Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Into the Wild

Read Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Online Free - For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.



Title : Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0399159010
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 318 pages


Reviews


Jenny rated it ★★★★★

January 10, 2012

I wrote this book so I think I'm required to like it. But I'd like it even if someone else wrote it. Although if they did I'd sue them for stealing my life story. How confusing. Much like the book.


Grace rated it ★★☆☆☆

July 21, 2012

If you're looking for a Sedaris alternative, this unfortunately isn't it. Which kills me, because I get the feeling Lawson had the potential (and raw material) to knock it out of the park, but it just doesn't come together. Jenny Lawson is definitely funny. When she really gets going on a story, i...


Patrick rated it ★★★★★

February 25, 2014

First, I should mention that I listened to this one on audiobook. Didn't read the text version. Second, the audio version is read by the author. I think Jenny did a nice job with it, too. If you're used to nothing but professional audiobook narrators, there might be a few verbal ticks in here tha...


Jeanette rated it ★★★★★

September 26, 2012

Skull and crossbones on this one if you're easily offended. So no whiners, okay? I mean it. Just....no whining. This is the most hilarious vagina memoir ever written. Okay, so technically it's not just about vaginas, but she mentions hers more often than anyone I've ever known who actually owns o...


karen rated it ★★★★☆

May 30, 2015

**edited...with content!** watch your fucking back, sloane crosley...this lady is funny-funny, not "boys tell me i am funny at parties because i am pretty" funny. i am so glad that kelly read this before me and it encouraged me to pick up my ARC and get into it far earlier than i ordinarily would h...


Katie rated it ★★★★★

April 23, 2012

Basically the best review I can give this book, is that as a librarian I'm pretty much giddy with excitement waiting for the things people will come tell me after they've read this book. From the (boring) I loved that it was an honest look at mental illness and survival (very true) to the (no ser...


Chris rated it ★☆☆☆☆

August 20, 2012

Overall Rating: 1.5 I don’t know if it’s specifically American problem, but let me tell you, this is one of the worst memoirs I’ve read. (Seriously America, do you honestly find this funny? O.o) And I’ll tell you why, I’m not just saying this because of some misplaced sense of spite, ok? When I fir...


Diane rated it ★★☆☆☆

May 03, 2015

JENNY LAWSON ATTACKED ME WITH A MACHETE!! OK, so I have never met Jenny Lawson, and she didn't attack me with an actual machete, but I'm being metaphorical here, y'all. Because reading Jenny Lawson's book made me feel as if I were being beaten with some kind of weapon, and it may as well have been...


Trudi rated it ★★★★☆

August 07, 2012

Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess) is seriously effed up, and that doesn't always equate with being seriously bleeping funny but in her case, this book will S-L-A-Y you. I laughed so hard in parts I shed tears (and a little pee I think). Just sayin'. For anyone out there with some incontinence issue...


J.L. rated it ★★★★☆

December 07, 2016

I read lots of memoirs, but something about Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend this Never Happened was different. REALLY DIFFERENT! It’s not just the messed up lives thing which seems to be a prerequisite for memoir writers. In case you were wondering, though, dysfunctionality thrives in this book. And...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.