The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Into the Wild

Read The Miniaturist Online Free - Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .”

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.



Title : The Miniaturist
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062306812
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages


Reviews


Lucy rated it ★★★☆☆

March 25, 2015

I found this book very confusing and the hype of it, even more so. For one thing, I found it very readable - very hard to put down. On the other hand, I found the characters very unbelievable. I thought it highly unconvincing that an eighteen year old girl from the country would have had such wisd...


Regan rated it ★★★★☆

February 16, 2015

4.5 really really beautiful. I was going to give it 4 stars but then I reread the first chapter after I finished AND IT WAS SO GOOD IN CONTEXT.


karen rated it ★★★★☆

February 12, 2015

I love you. I love you. From back to front, I love you. this is an remarkably polished and transporting debut novel that has been compared to sarah waters. which comparison alone should be enough for you to give it a shot, but i'll continue to blather on a bit in case you need more encouragement. i...


Will rated it ★★★★★

August 29, 2016

News Flash! The BBC has bought in, and will be airing a three-part series of The Miniaturist, for broadcast some time in 2017. The death of Nella Oortman’s father left the family in difficult straits, saddled with unexpected debts and a declining standard of living. But the widow finds a suitable...


Jeffrey rated it ★★★★☆

August 21, 2017

”Behold, as the stars of heaven for multitude…. How can I myself alone bear your cumbrance, and your burden, and your strife?” Deuteronomy 1:10-12 The Miniature Petronella Oortman Petronella Oortman is barely eighteen years old in 1686 when she marries a rich merchant named Johannes Brandt and moves t...


Leah rated it ★☆☆☆☆

October 03, 2014

This book was very annoying. I kept persevering, oh yes, I did. Chapter after chapter, night after exhausting night when common sense was telling me to go chuck the book across the room and get some much needed sleep. Why? Because I wanted to know who the bloody Miniaturist was of course! Spoiler...


Leanne rated it ★★★☆☆

January 28, 2015

3 stars is a difficult rating for me. When I look at the vast number of 3-starrers I've got sitting on my shelves, there is a definite divide between ones I sped through at the time but that left no lasting impression, ones that I did enjoy but just found too silly or amateur-ish to rate higher,...


Helen Ροζουλί Εωσφόρος rated it ★★★☆☆

September 04, 2017

Αυτή η ιστορία που ξεκινάει πολλα υποσχόμενη,κυρίως μας προϊδεάζει για σκοτεινά μυστικά,υπερφυσικές ικανότητες,πνιγηρες και ανομολόγητες συνομωσίες οικογενειακού και κοινωνικού πλαισίου και φυσικά για μια κρυφή σαγηνευτική απεικονηση μυστηρίου στη ζωή του Άμστερνταμ τέλη του 17ου αιώνα,καθηλωτική...


Amalia rated it ★★★★★

September 03, 2017

''But words are water in Amsterdam, they flood your ears and set the rot'' When you visit the Rijksmuseum, one of the exhibits that is certain to attract your attention, is the beautiful dollhouse of Petronella Oortman, a creation of exquisite beauty. When I visited Amsterdam a few years ago, th...


Annet rated it ★★★★☆

September 04, 2017

Enjoyed this book, really entertaining story of 17th century Amsterdam and the adventures of Petronella, newly wed young wife of a rich merchant living at the 'Herengracht' in Amsterdam. The adventures however did not turn out what she expected...It's a rather dark and sad story, but beautifully...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.