Whose Body? (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, #1) by Dorothy L. Sayers

Into the Wild

Read Whose Body? (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, #1) Online Free - The stark naked body was lying in the tub. Not unusual for a proper bath, but highly irregular for murder -- especially witha pair of gold pince-nez deliberately perched before the sightless eyes. What's more, the face appeared to have been shaved after death. The police assumed that the victim was a prominent financier, but Lord Peter Wimsey, who dabbled in mystery detection as a hobby, knew better. In this, his first murder case, Lord Peter untangles the ghastly mystery of the corpse in the bath.



Title : Whose Body? (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0061043575
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 212 pages


Reviews


Melindam rated it ★★★★☆

November 13, 2017

Time to meet Lord Peter Wimsey, archetype of amateur gentleman detective & his sidekick, the invaluable valet Bunter. “Bunter!” “Yes, my lord.” “Her Grace tells me that a respectable Battersea architect has discovered a dead man in his bath.” “Indeed, my lord? That’s very gratifying.” “Very, B...


Jack rated it ★★★★★

September 30, 2009

The very first Lord Peter Wimsey novel, and thus the genesis of one of the most engaging characters I've ever encountered, literary or otherwise. Actually, make that at least two (since Bunter is equally astounding), and maybe three (because the Dowager's quite engaging, too). In rereading this,...


Jaline rated it ★★★★☆

July 31, 2017

Dorothy L. Sayers wrote mysteries (notably, the Lord Peter Wimsey series) from the 1920’s through the early 1950’s. She also did translations, such as Dante’s Inferno. She was a controversial writer of her time and a very accomplished one. From letters she wrote, she had begun working out her plo...


Jason rated it ★★★★☆

June 20, 2016

British Jason #1: Jolly good book, what? British Jason #2: Oh, rather! British Jason #1: I say, how much longer do you suppose we can keep this up? British Jason #2: Not long, old bean. I've run out of stereotypical Brit words and this ridiculous accent is doing me head in! I almost filed this all up...


Mitch rated it ★☆☆☆☆

December 04, 2011

Oh, I feel so badly how much I disliked this book. As a mystery genre fan and avid reader of Agatha Christie, I thought for sure I would enjoy the much-reccomended Lord Peter Wimsey series by Dorothy L. Sayers. But alas, I found myself bored and annoyed by the personalities of the characters. The...


Connie rated it ★★★☆☆

October 29, 2016

Lord Peter Wimsey is a charming, intelligent aristocrat who keeps occupied as a rare book collector and an amateur sleuth. Set in post-World War I Britain, he occasionally suffers from PTSD from his war years. Wimsey enlists the help of his valet, Mervyn Bunter, in the detective work, and the dry...


Juli rated it ★★★★★

November 28, 2017

There are many book series that over the years I have said "I'd love to read those books!'' and then never did. Lord Peter Wimsey is one of those great characters that I vowed to visit, and promptly forgot my promise. In an attempt to turn over a new leaf reading-wise, I am changing this habit. W...


Kim rated it ★★★★☆

January 12, 2013

It's difficult for me to be objective about Dorothy L Sayers. Since discovering Strong Poison in the school library when I was about 14, she has been one of my favourite writers and one whose novels I re-read regularly. In the past couple of years I've ventured beyond the novels and the short sto...


Madeline rated it ★★★☆☆

May 24, 2011

At last, I pick up Dorothy Sayers' first mystery novel and finally learn the Origins of Lord Peter! ...except, this isn't an origin story like I was expecting. We don't get to see Lord Peter as Bruce Wayne in Batman Begins, deciding to become a defender of justice while pretending to be a empty-he...


Carmen rated it ★★★☆☆

March 28, 2016

I understand Sayers is a master and one of the classic mystery writers, in the vein of Agatha Christie. However, I don't find her writing to be as good as Christie's, actually I dislike a lot of her writing style. Lord Peter Wimsey says the most RIDICULOUS stuff sometimes. He quotes random poetry...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.