Hunter (Hunter, #1) by Mercedes Lackey

Into the Wild

Read Hunter (Hunter, #1) Online Free - They came after the Diseray. Some were terrors ripped from our collective imaginations, remnants of every mythology across the world. And some were like nothing anyone had ever dreamed up, even in their worst nightmares.

Monsters.

Long ago, the barriers between our world and the Otherworld were ripped open, and it’s taken centuries to bring back civilization in the wake of the catastrophe. Now, the luckiest Cits live in enclosed communities, behind walls that keep them safe from the hideous creatures fighting to break through. Others are not so lucky.

To Joyeaux Charmand, who has been a Hunter in her tight-knit mountain community since she was a child, every Cit without magic deserves her protection from dangerous Othersiders. Then she is called to Apex City, where the best Hunters are kept to protect the most important people.

Joy soon realizes that the city’s powerful leaders care more about luring Cits into a false sense of security than protecting them. More and more monsters are getting through the barriers, and the close calls are becoming too frequent to ignore. Yet the Cits have no sense of how much danger they’re in—to them, Joy and her corps of fellow Hunters are just action stars they watch on TV.

When an act of sabotage against Joy takes an unbearable toll, she uncovers a terrifying conspiracy in the city. There is something much worse than the usual monsters infiltrating Apex. And it may be too late to stop them…



Title : Hunter (Hunter, #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1484707842
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 374 pages


Reviews


Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads rated it ★★☆☆☆

September 07, 2017

Reviewed by: Rabid Reads Contrary to my assumption, HUNTER by Mercedes Lackey was not a YA fantasy. If I'd bothered to read the blurb, I would've known that, but what can I say? Old habits die hard. What it is is a paranormal/mythological/post-apocalyptic/dystopian mashup. Sounds cool, right? And a...


Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ rated it ★★★☆☆

September 04, 2015

Review first posted on www.fantasyliterature.com: In Mercedes Lackey’s new young adult novel Hunter, post-apocalyptic science fiction mixes with magical fantasy to produce an adventure in the tradition of The Hunger Games and Divergent. A series of catastrophes called the “Diseray” – a corruption...


♛Tash rated it ★☆☆☆☆

October 21, 2015

DNF @25% - I really dislike giving out negative reviews, but this is just not working for me. Just far too much info dumping and not a lot happening. For example, 5 Kindle pages for the origin of breakfast food and a few more on fashion. I get that this is the first book in the series and world b...


Molly rated it ★★★★☆

March 13, 2017

I am proud to say I am yet again an oddball... I really liked this book! I've never read a book before that started so BAD but ended so GOOD! The Bad (the first 20%) : Okay, so the first 20% I'd only rate a 6/10 and that's being generous. The whole beginning is Joy riding the train to the city. It w...


Lyn *GLITTER VIKING* rated it ★★☆☆☆

July 31, 2015

7/30/2015: ARC! WOOWOO DNF Review Stopped at: 21% 7/31/2015: I am so, SO disappointed. I can't believe a veteran novelist wrote this. It is goofy and derivative, and the infodumping is tedious. If I have to go back and read the same paragraph five times, then maybe it is time to admit that this isn'...


Cameron rated it ★★★★★

April 08, 2016

Originally posted on the blog: What the Cat Read I’ve always been a fan of Lackey’s novels. She’s been a household favorite since the time I was a tiny little kitten to present day. There has been very little which she has written that I have not loved, so when I heard that she had a new YA novel...


Vippi rated it ★★★☆☆

November 23, 2015

~Thanks Netgalley for providing a review copy in exchange for my honest review~ Actual rating: 2.5 stars, generously rounded up Hunter isn’t so bad. It isn’t compelling either. This book places itself in the well-established tradition of dystopian YA, such as The Hunger Games and Prodigy, with a sli...


Pam rated it ★★★★★

April 11, 2017

~review copy from Netgalley HUNTER -- I LOVE this book. It's so much fun and Mercedes Lackey's world building is engaging and her take on magic is believable. THE BACKDROP-- is an alternative earth where catastrophe has struck. And while the Christers may have been expecting to be gathered up to He...


Louisa rated it ★★★★★

September 27, 2015

OH, so awesome! Really enjoyed this book, and there were a couple of things that were unsolved for the next book, and I can't wait to find out about them!


Maxine ❃ rated it ★☆☆☆☆

April 26, 2017

DNF at 44% I remember having my interest piqued by the unique world introduced by the author but it wasn't enough to keep me reading so I eventually gave up on it. Thank you so much to Disney Book Group, Disney-Hyperion and NetGalley for granting me access to an eARC. (incredibly late, I know)





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.