Shtum by Jem Lester

Into the Wild

Read Shtum Online Free - Powerful, darkly funny and heart-breaking, Shtum is a story about fathers and sons, autism, and dysfunctional relationships.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation - a strategic decision to further Jonah's case in an upcoming tribunal - Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben's elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together.

A powerful, emotional, but above all enjoyable read, perfect for fans of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.



Title : Shtum
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1409162982
Edition Language : English
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 0 pages


Reviews


Maxine rated it ★★★★★

May 15, 2017

Oh wow. Speechless. Incredible book. Especially as a mother to an autistic son. Absolutely brilliant. Please just read this before you die. Some reviews are hard to do as you just can't find enough words to be expressed coherently. I have a million jumbled things to say about this book and need t...


Paromjit rated it ★★★★★

June 02, 2016

Shtum is a story about family dynamics, relationships and the harrowing experience of raising a autistic child at the extreme end of the spectrum. It is guaranteed to make you laugh, cry and pull at your heartstrings. You will be outraged at a system that is more concerned about saving money, rat...


Tracy rated it ★★★★★

October 14, 2015

SHTUM by Jem Lester Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope. When Ben and Emma fake a separation - a strategic decision to further Jonah's case in an upcoming tribunal - Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben'...


PattyMacDotComma rated it ★★★★★

September 08, 2017

5★ I remember the Yiddish word “shtum” as meaning to keep quiet about something, as in to keep it secret, to yourself, not just to be silent. The U sounds like “put”, rather than like “mum”. ** The author drops us smack in the middle of a family overwhelmed: a severely autistic boy of 10, Jonah, li...


Susan rated it ★★★★★

March 07, 2016

This is an extremely moving novel about Ben and Emma Jewell and their ten year old son, Jonah. When we meet the family they are, like so many parents, considering what secondary school would best meet Jonah’s needs. However, their search for an education is more complicated than most parents, as...


Petra rated it ★★★★★

September 14, 2017

Shtum = to keep quiet, dumb....to keep secrets inside; not to tell What a lovely story! These flawed characters all crept into my heart. It's going to be awhile before I can let go of Jonah. The author was masterful in taking a stressed family and showing the stories behind the people, what shaped...


Jules rated it ★★★★☆

December 18, 2015

This is a heart breaking tale about a family trying to cope with having a son with severe autism. It covers the impact having a child with autism has on both parents, along with their struggle to get support from social services. Shtum is told from the point of view of the father, Ben. This story...


Dave rated it ★★★★★

July 05, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has been recommended by so many people so when I got the opportunity to have a read, I grabbed it and was so pleasantly surprised. It's a heart-warming story and very funny, but the heart-breaking sadness of it all really grabbed me. It's sad in a nice way (if that...


Mandy rated it ★★★★★

May 27, 2017

4.5 stars I finished this book a few days ago and couldn't decide whether to give it 4 or 5 stars. Shtum is about JJ a 10 year old severely autistic boy, who doesn't speak, throws tantrums, is still in a nappy, needs to be dressed and bathed, and when not looking can trash a kitchen in minutes. Th...


David Reviews rated it ★★★★★

January 16, 2016

Shtum is a terrific book; it’s involving, very touching and an emotional story that is a delight to read. Some of it can be pretty painful, difficult reading and it may occasionally leave a tear in your eye, but there is humour too and in the end it leaves you satisfied and pleased you discovered...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.