Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer

Into the Wild

Read Too Like the Lightning Online Free - Tor Books is proud to launch the first novel in a new political science fiction series, Too Like The Lightning by debut novelist Ada Palmer. Palmer’s unique vision mixes Enlightenment-era philosophy with traditional science fiction speculation to bring to life the year 2454, not a perfect future, but a utopian one, described by a narrator writing in an antiquated form to catalog the birth of a revolution. The result is The Iliad meets I, Claudius mixed with the enthusiasm of The Stars My Destination and Gene Wolfe style world building.

Mycroft Canner is a convict. For his crimes he is required, as is the custom of the 25th century, to wander the world being as useful as he can to all he meets. Carlyle Foster is a sensayer–a spiritual counselor in a world that has outlawed the public practice of religion, but which also knows that the inner lives of humans cannot be wished away.

The world into which Mycroft and Carlyle have been born is as strange to our 21st-century eyes as ours would be to a native of the 1500s. It is a hard-won utopia built on technologically-generated abundance, and also on complex and mandatory systems of labeling all public writing and speech. What seem to us normal gender distinctions are now distinctly taboo in most social situations. And most of the world’s population is affiliated with globe-girdling clans of the like-minded, whose endless economic and cultural competition is carefully managed by central planners of inestimable subtlety. To us it seems like a mad combination of heaven and hell. To them, it seems like normal life.

And in this world, Mycroft and Carlyle have stumbled on the wild card that may destabilize the system: the boy Bridger, who can effortlessly make his wishes come true. Who can, it would seem, bring inanimate objects to life…

Perfect for fans of Jo Walton, Robert Charles Wilson and Kim Stanley Robinson, Too Like The Lightning is a refreshing change of pace from the current trend of gritty, dystopian novels. Much like Homer telling of heroic deeds and wine dark seas, Mycroft Canner’s narration will draw you into the world of Terra Ignota—a world simmering with gender politics and religious fervor just beneath the surface, on the brink of revolutionary change.



Title : Too Like the Lightning
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0765378000
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 432 pages


Reviews


Brad rated it ★★★★★

January 05, 2017

Update 1/5/17: Re-read complete! And one thing I can definitely say without hesitation? : Definitely better the second time around. It's still mightily dense with ideas and worldbuilding and truly fascinating characters that always manage to surprise, surprise again, tease me to death with hints a...


Althea rated it ★★★☆☆

October 26, 2016

This is a hard one to review. It's a very ambitious, very complex, very intelligent novel. However, it also tries too hard. It's a bit too impressed with itself for being intelligent, ambitious and complex. More than once, I just felt like sighing and saying, "Relax! Drop all the meta- stuff and j...


Philip rated it ★★★★☆

June 02, 2017

4.25ish stars I won't even attempt a brief summary. The briefest summary I could manage would still be TL;DR. I'll say this: It's ambitious, it's complex, it's confusing, it's got a lot to say. There are still a lot of things I'm unsure about: 1) Can't quite tell if it's a mess or it's brilliant,...


Mogsy (MMOGC) rated it ★★★☆☆

May 10, 2016

3.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2016/05/10/... Has a book ever made you feel completely uncertain of how you’ll rate it? Like, what if you’re blown away by its ideas, but at the same time they make you feel utterly out of your depth? Or maybe, a book that you didn’t t...


Basia rated it ★★★★★

February 12, 2017

[Ok, DEEEEEP BREATH, Basia. You can do this!!!] Hmmm. I have been a VORACIOUS reader since I can remember, first in Poland, and then in the US. I've mentioned previously that I credit my love of reading with becoming fluent in this language in only six months. Some of you may also know I have edit...


Jo rated it ★★★★★

May 12, 2016

Updated to add my Tor.com review: http://www.tor.com/2016/05/10/a-futur... But the short version -- they're science fiction that has a solid and fascinating world, great characters, and also that make you think about all kinds of things. Since I read these, hardly a day has gone by when something...


Trish rated it ★★★☆☆

March 01, 2017

I can't believe I made it! Do you know the kind of dream in which you try to run away or push something open but your limbs are just too gooey, too slow? As if you were under water? Getting through this book was like that. The story is about the far future. The author deliberately made it "weird"...


Stevie rated it ★★★★★

July 23, 2017

(Re-read, original review below) I loved every minute of re-reading this book. It was completely different reading Ada Palmer's prose from my initial experience listening to the brilliantly performed audiobook. The first time through it seemed like the audiobook required every neuron of my brain t...


Scott rated it ★★★★☆

January 06, 2017

If you know anyone who doubts the inventiveness of Science Fiction as a genre, who questions the form’s ability to encompass work of literary value, lend them a copy of Too Like the Lightning. This is a novel of massive ambition, fusing 18th century philosophy and ideas with a very well-built and...


Bookwraiths rated it ★★★☆☆

July 14, 2016

Originally reviewed at Bookwraiths. Ambitious. Complex. Thought-provoking. Ada Palmer’s debut novel, Too Like the Lightning, is all those things and more. The book truly an intellectual piece of science fiction literature, not only in its themes (political, societal, philosophical, and religious)...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.