Standard Deviation by Katherine Heiny

Into the Wild

Read Standard Deviation Online Free - ‘Standard Deviation is a marvel’ Kate Atkinson, author of Life After Life

A rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore

Graham Cavanaugh’s second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not. She considers herself privileged to live in the age of the hair towel, talks non-stop through her epidural, labour and delivery, invites the doorman to move in and the eccentric members of their son’s Origami Club to Thanksgiving. She is charming and spontaneous and fun but life with her can be exhausting.

In the midst of the day-to-day difficulties and delights of marriage and raising a child with Asperger’s, his first wife, Elspeth, reenters Graham’s life. Former spouses are hard to categorize – are they friends, enemies, old flames, or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: How can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice?



Title : Standard Deviation
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0008105529
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 pages


Reviews


Larry rated it ★★★★★

May 29, 2017

It has been a long while since I literally laughed out loud while reading a book, but Katherine Heiny's debut novel, Standard Deviation , had me cracking up more than a few times. (Nothing quite like sitting at the chiropractor laughing to yourself and having everyone wonder if you need more tha...


Paromjit rated it ★★★★★

May 20, 2017

Katherine Heiny has written a smart and joyful debut novel about a New York family and their everyday life. It is written through the perspective of Graham, in his early sixties, married to his second wife, the eccentric Audra, a force of nature, whom he adores, and their 10 year old autistic son...


Debbie rated it ★★★★☆

November 16, 2017

4.5, now rounded down (please don't frown) only because I can't remember all the laughs! See update below. I'm laughing just thinking about this book. The dry humor is priceless! It's full of wry observations of everyday life by a guy named Graham. Passive and entirely boring, Graham is married t...


Diane S ☔ rated it ★★★★☆

June 30, 2017

4.5 Love, marriage, infidelity and origami. Well the origami sound like an interesting twist but the others sound like many novels out there, common enough that I would have given this a pass if not for the reviews of a few of my friends on this site. So I started reading this, thinking a truly a...


Karen❄️ rated it ★★★★☆

September 05, 2017

This was a really funny book about marriage, infidelity, exes, misfits, raising a child with social disabilities. I literally laughed out loud so many times! I think everyone would enjoy this book!


Cheri rated it ★★★★★

July 21, 2017

4.5 Stars I’m not sure that I can do justice to this humorous social satire about love and family, marriage, sex and temptations, educating and nurturing children, and origami, which seems somehow appropriate to how all these various things fit together to shape Standard Deviation . I read this o...


Carol (Bookaria) rated it ★★★★★

September 24, 2017

This novel is hilarious and sharply insightful at the same time. Graham has been married to his second wife, Audra, for over a decade. Audra is the exact opposite of his first wife Elspeth. She (Audra) is blunt, unapologetically honest and talks non-stop. On the other hand, Elspeth is reserved, th...


PattyMacDotComma rated it ★★★★☆

September 07, 2017

4★ “People came to Audra for advice— well, no, not advice, that was the wrong word. They came to her for secrets, for gossip, for connections— for intel, that was the term— about everything. Friends sought her expertise on their job interviews, on their children’s chances of getting into private s...


Victoria rated it ★★★★★

July 10, 2017

This is social satire at its very best--awkward situations turned humorous, characters you grow to love and writing that is brilliant and sarcastic--this was a tremendously entertaining read and one I know I will read again. We meet two of the characters, Audra and Graham, while grocery shopping a...


Liz rated it ★★★★★

November 19, 2017

What a strange book this is. Graham and his second wife, Audra, end up as friends to his first wife and her new significant other. First off, the mere idea of being friends with an ex confounds me. And here, the two wives are SO different. “How opposite they were! How could one man have fallen in...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.