Secrets of Nanreath Hall: A Novel by Alix Rickloff

Into the Wild

Read Secrets of Nanreath Hall: A Novel Online Free - This incredible debut historical novel—in the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson—tells the fascinating story of a young mother who flees her home on the rocky cliffs of Cornwall and the daughter who finds her way back, seeking answers.

Cornwall, 1940. Back in England after the harrowing evacuation at Dunkirk, WWII Red Cross nurse Anna Trenowyth is shocked to learn her adoptive parents Graham and Prue Handley have been killed in an air raid. She desperately needs their advice as she’s been assigned to the military hospital that has set up camp inside her biological mother’s childhood home—Nanreath Hall. Anna was just six years old when her mother, Lady Katherine Trenowyth, died. All she has left are vague memories that tease her with clues she can’t unravel. Anna’s assignment to Nanreath Hall could be the chance for her to finally become acquainted with the family she’s never known—and to unbury the truth and secrets surrounding her past.

Cornwall, 1913. In the luxury of pre-WWI England, Lady Katherine Trenowyth is expected to do nothing more than make a smart marriage and have a respectable life. When Simon Halliday, a bohemian painter, enters her world, Katherine begins to question the future that was so carefully laid out for her. Her choices begin to lead her away from the stability of her home and family toward a wild existence of life, art, and love. But as everything begins to fall apart, Katherine finds herself destitute and alone.

As Anna is drawn into her newfound family’s lives and their tangled loyalties, she discovers herself at the center of old heartbreaks and unbearable tragedies, leaving her to decide if the secrets of the past are too dangerous to unearth…and if the family she’s discovered is one she can keep.



Title : Secrets of Nanreath Hall: A Novel
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062433180
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 416 pages


Reviews


Aditi rated it ★★★★☆

July 28, 2017

“Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” ----Søren Kierkegaard Alix Rickloff, a critically acclaimed author of historical and paranormal romance, has penned a heart touching historical fiction called, Secrets of Nanreath Hall that revolves around two women, in two d...


Myrna rated it ★★★★☆

October 15, 2016

The Secrets of Nanreath Hall is a pleasant dual timeline story that intrigued me and felt atmospheric. I could visualize the big English manor and the pre-war/war setting. Most of characters are likable and realistic but some are more complicated than others. The author did a great job of evokin...


Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede rated it ★★★☆☆

September 03, 2017

Dual review with Swedish first and then English! SWEDISH REVIEW Man ska inte välja en bok pga av dess omslag, men vad kan jag säga; Dimmornas hus omslag tillsammans med dess fängslande handlingsbeskrivning fick mig på fall! Jag tror inte att jag någonsin kommer att tröttna på att läsa böcker med t...


Colleen rated it ★★★★☆

August 09, 2016

Find my full review (and giveaway information) on my blog http://aliteraryvacation.blogspot.com. I'm a sucker for dual timeline novels! This format has become one of my favorites and, when done right, can immerse me even deeper into the lives and situations presented and, in doing so, make me care...


Jenny rated it ★★★★☆

February 06, 2017

Kitty Trenowyth, the pampered daughter of a wealthy earl, yearns to choose her own future, to explore her artistic talents, to experience more than her sheltered life has so far allowed. When her father commissions an artist to paint her portrait, he brings with him Simon Halliday, a handsome ass...


Renee rated it ★★★★☆

June 29, 2017

3.5 to 4 stars. Great historical details. A pleasant, easy-paced listening/reading experience. All the characters from the 1914 timeline seemed shallow & caddish---which I guess is what helped the more modern characters learn from their poor life choices. Anna, from 1940, seemed brave, though...


Lynn rated it ★★★☆☆

August 04, 2016

C+ at AAR, so 3.5 stars For the longest time, Susanna Kearsley, Lauren Willig, and Susan Meissner were the only authors I regularly encountered who wrote dual timeline novels. However, they seem to be everywhere all of a sudden. I love this device, so I’m certainly not complaining. In fact, I was...


Renee rated it ★★★★★

April 15, 2016

Two women and two wars separated by a generation filled with secrets that kept me turning pages to get to the mysterious truth. At the heart, this is a novel about searching for one’s identity. The vivid writing combined with such an intriguing story make Alix Rickloff an exciting voice in histor...


Paula rated it ★★★★★

September 17, 2016

Excellent story, rather disconcerting at first with changing from Kitty's story in the early 1900s to Anna's story in the 1940s. Good characters, good plot lines, good period details. Very enjoyable read.


Meg - A Bookish Affair rated it ★★★★☆

August 16, 2016

"Secrets of Nanreath Hall" is a historical fiction tale told in two times. The first time is WWI where Kitty is the spoiled daughter of a titled family who falls in love with the proverbial "guy from the wrong side of the tracks." Her life is upended when she gets pregnant and is practically diso...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.