A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart

Into the Wild

Read A Boy Made of Blocks Online Free - In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft.

Alex loves his family, and yet he struggles to connect with his eight-year-old autistic son, Sam. The strain has pushed his marriage to the breaking point. So Alex moves in with his merrily irresponsible best friend on the world’s most uncomfortable blow-up bed.

As Alex navigates single life, long-buried family secrets, and part-time fatherhood, his son begins playing Minecraft. Sam’s imagination blossoms and the game opens up a whole new world for father and son to share. Together, they discover that sometimes life must fall apart before you can build a better one.

Inspired by the author’s own relationship with his autistic son, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, funny, and, most, of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy.



Title : A Boy Made of Blocks
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1250111595
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages


Reviews


Paromjit rated it ★★★★☆

December 05, 2016

This is a lovely heartwarming read about a father who has struggled to connect with his high end autistic spectrum young son, Sam. Sam is a difficult and socially awkward child who has been cared for primarily by Jody, his mother. She is exhausted and at her wit's ends and hopes that a trial sepa...


Emma rated it ★★★★☆

April 24, 2017

Right from the first chapter, I absolutely despised Alex: the very useless father of young Sam. I read his selfish, childish avoidance of his life with muttered epithets and wondered how the hell his wife, Jody, had lasted so long with this man child. I was seriously annoyed. And without realisin...


Dem rated it ★★☆☆☆

September 02, 2017

This is the sort of book that pulls at your heart strings and certainly makes you realize the challenges that Autism brings to a family and the struggle it is to get the appropriate help and educational needs their child requires and is entitled to. While I did like the book in places and felt the...


Maria rated it ★★★★☆

August 23, 2017

A Porta Mágica Vou começar por apresentar-vos esta família: Sam é o filho : um jovem autista daqueles que se escondem debaixo das mesas, que detesta contactos físicos, e em que até o olhar dos outros figura algures lá pelo rol dos itens mais incómodos. Jody é a mãe : diligente e a tempo inteiro. Vin...


abby rated it ★★★★☆

February 09, 2017

"Life is an adventure, not a walk. That's why it's difficult." 3.5 stars Alex's life is falling apart. His wife, Jody, has asked him to move out their home. The sticking point in their marriage is Alex's inability to connect with and parent their eight-year-old autistic son, Sam. He's struggling...


The Hopeless Romantics Book Blog rated it ★★★★★

August 25, 2016

Review: Surj Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHopelessR... Blog: http://thehopelessromanticsbookblog.b... I'm a romance reader through and through and that is really all I've read for the last three years. However, when I read the synopsis for "A Boy made of Blocks," there was just something a...


Kruimel rated it ★★★★★

February 02, 2017

Vijf sterren. Ik heb meermaals als een gek zitten knikken tegen de pagina's. 'Ja!', wou ik roepen. 'Ja, zo is het helemaal.' Af en toe las ik mijn eigen gedachten op de pagina's. Freaky in a good way. Het verhaal is warm, mooi, grappig en zeker goed geschreven. Maar die vijf sterren zijn vooral v...


Sarah rated it ★★★★★

February 10, 2017

A Boy Made of Blocks is a fiction story based on real life experiences with the authors own son. Alex has been trying to do the best for his family by investing his time in his work and providing for the family. Sadly he has been neglecting his wife and son to a certain extent and Jody his wife ha...


Jennifer rated it ★★★★★

February 28, 2017

I loved this book so much. The straight forward writing makes for easy reading as Alex tells us his heartfelt story. Alex’s eight year old son, Sam, diagnosed with autism, has some difficult behaviors that create stress in the house so Alex spends most of his time at the office, hence his marriag...


Tracy rated it ★★★★☆

June 05, 2016

A thoroughly wonderful book following Alex and his autistic son Sam's journey to connect with each other. Full of humour and warmth this story tugged at my heartstrings and I even shed a tear (or two).





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.