Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Into the Wild

Read Girl in Pieces Online Free - For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.
 
START READING!

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
   Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
  A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.



Title : Girl in Pieces
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1101934719
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 416 pages


Reviews


Emily May rated it ★★☆☆☆

February 09, 2017

2 1/2 stars. An extra 1/2 star because I think a lot of readers will love this - it's just a certain type of storytelling that always leaves me cold. The many fans of Ellen Hopkins should love this book. It's a dark contemporary dealing with self-harm and it's written in a mostly fragmented series...


Maggie rated it ★★★★★

June 16, 2017

Although this book tells a story of people being cruel to themselves, it is a book about being gentle with yourself. It seems odd to call this novel kind, as it was often a savage read (it is unflinching in its portrayal of self-harm, homelessness, addiction, and desperation) but it has such a sw...


Lola rated it ★★☆☆☆

February 07, 2017

DNF I think I’m a fairly patient person. I do, after all, tutor a nine-year-old girl who prefers to spend her time trying to make me laugh in any way possible during our sessions instead of doing the work I assign her. (She’s adorable, though.) But my patience has its limits, especially when it com...


Cait (Paper Fury) rated it ★★★☆☆

October 18, 2016

Wow this was a seriously heavy, but beautifully written book. Like I knew it'd be about dark things when I picked it up from the library, but it still made my HEART ACHE with just how much trauma and damage Charlie went through. Like, life really sucks sometimes, okay? I think this book did a goo...


Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ rated it ★★★★☆

November 25, 2016

LIKE A BABY HARP SEAL, I'M ALL WHITE. MY FOREARMS ARE thickly bandaged, heavy as clubs. My thighs are wrapped tightly, too; white gauze peeks out from the shorts Nurse Ava pulled from the lost and found box behind the nurses' station. Like an orphan, I came here with no clothes. Like an orphan, I...


Jacqueline rated it ★★★★☆

September 17, 2016

4/5 stars Honestly don't even know where to begin. Well, pretty much I had really high expectations for this book and sadly it didn't live up to them. I myself self-harmed for two years. It's something very personal to me and when I read the author herself was inspired to write this book through h...


Beatrice rated it ★★★★☆

August 29, 2016

Thank you Penguin Random House / Delacorte Press for the ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Full review posted at Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic Charlotte Davis lost everything in her life; her father, her mother, her best friend and her direction in life. She became homeless an...


S.M. rated it ★★★★★

February 10, 2016

The first thing that gripped me about this book was the writing. Glasgow’s style is so thick with emotion and yet sparse on the page. In places, it reads like poetry. I was immediately drawn in by Glasgow’s words, the book’s atmospheric setting. Then there was the character’s struggle with her se...


Julia rated it ★★★★★

June 11, 2016

When I first heard about this book, I was a bit nervous. I thought, what if it's done badly? What if it's not sensitive or doesn't read real? But within a chapter or two, I realised how unfounded that fear was. Girl in Pieces is a heart-breaking book that handles the difficult topic of self-harm...


sana rated it ★★☆☆☆

April 21, 2017

I made it. I finally made it through 400 and something freaking pages. This book started out great, but as I read on, it just got worse and worse. I'm probably one of those 5% of readers this book didn't have an effect on. Trigger warning: Self-harm, drugs, alcohol, sexual abuse ●I was okay with t...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.