Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Into the Wild

Read Pachinko Online Free - Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan.

So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.



Title : Pachinko
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1455563935
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 490 pages


Reviews


Emily May rated it ★★★★☆

September 09, 2017

History has failed us, but no matter. Look, I get it. A lot of people won't be interested in this book because they have no idea what pachinko means and what exactly is going on with that cover, anyway? We are highly susceptible to marketing techniques and the cover and title give us pretty much...


Roxane rated it ★★★★★

July 26, 2017

What a marvelous, deeply engrossing novel about four generations of a Korean family in Japan. There was a lot of story here and a lot of history (of which I was woefully ignorant) and it is all rendered in impeccable prose with a touch of steeliness. Toward the end of the novel, things started to...


Elyse rated it ★★★★★

April 11, 2017

A very enjoyable lengthy historical fiction! *A Jewel*!!!!! Some days Sunja, daughter of the owner of a boardinghouse in Korea, felt chills when she was growing her secret child. If she had agreed to remain the mistress of the rich man in Japan whom she got pregnant with - who was married with 3 c...


Angela M rated it ★★★★☆

March 22, 2017

One of the things I like about reading well written historical fiction is that it can take me to another time and place and can be a profound learning experience. I knew close to nothing about the Japanese occupation of Korea from 1910 through WWII. Last year I read Tiger Pelt which introduced me...


Maxwell rated it ★★☆☆☆

March 25, 2017

Alright, after thinking about this one for the last 24 hours or so, I think I've figured out how to articulate what I didn't like about it. But first I want to start with the stuff I did really enjoy. The book taught me a lot about the dynamic between Koreans & Japanese, especially in the earl...


Sam rated it ★★★★☆

February 09, 2017

Despite this being a 480 pg mini brick of a book, I absolutely flew through Pachinko on two commutes and a night. It's a sweeping, multi-generational epic of a Korean family, and we follow their collective and individual rises and falls, triumphs and failures, in 19010 - 1930 in Korea under Japan...


Cheri rated it ★★★★☆

February 09, 2017

!! NOW AVAILABLE !! 3.5 Stars rounded up Pachinko is a sweeping family saga listed as being for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. Following one Korean family through the years from Yeongdo, Busan, Korea where a poor fisherman and his wife give birth to a young infant boy. Hoonie, th...


David rated it ★★★★★

March 20, 2017

Told in chronological order, this book spans 4 generations and nearly a century of time and focuses on Zainichi or ethnic Koreans living in Japan. These Zainichi are essentially stateless citizens registered to Joseon or a unified Korea that hasn’t existed since the Korean War. Up until recently...


Jennifer rated it ★★★★★

April 01, 2017

Pachinko is just the kind of book I love. It starts in Korea in the early 1900s with Hoonie, a young man with a cleft palate and a twisted foot. Despite his deformities he marries and his wife gives birth to a daughter, Sunja. When Sunja is a young teenager she makes some bad choices and ends up...


DeB rated it ★★★★★

April 24, 2017

First and foremost, "Pachinko" is an engrossing, wonderful novel - a saga that follows a family over decades and through immigration, misery and joy, and all that makes a human story richly fascinating. I did not want it to end. This is another book which I hesitated over, after reading political...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.