Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Into the Wild

Read Pachinko Online Free - Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan.

So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Title : Pachinko
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1455563935
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 490 pages


Emily May rated it ★★★★★

November 09, 2017

History has failed us, but no matter. Look, I get it. A lot of people won't be interested in this book because they have no idea what pachinko means and what exactly is going on with that cover, anyway? We are highly susceptible to marketing techniques and the cover and title give us pretty much...

Roxane rated it ★★★★★

July 26, 2017

What a marvelous, deeply engrossing novel about four generations of a Korean family in Japan. There was a lot of story here and a lot of history (of which I was woefully ignorant) and it is all rendered in impeccable prose with a touch of steeliness. Toward the end of the novel, things started to...

Maxwell rated it ★★☆☆☆

March 25, 2017

Alright, after thinking about this one for the last 24 hours or so, I think I've figured out how to articulate what I didn't like about it. But first I want to start with the stuff I did really enjoy. The book taught me a lot about the dynamic between Koreans & Japanese, especially in the earl...

Elyse rated it ★★★★★

April 11, 2017

A very enjoyable lengthy historical fiction! *A Jewel*!!!!! Some days Sunja, daughter of the owner of a boardinghouse in Korea, felt chills when she was growing her secret child. If she had agreed to remain the mistress of the rich man in Japan whom she got pregnant with - who was married with 3 c...

Angela M rated it ★★★★☆

March 22, 2017

One of the things I like about reading well written historical fiction is that it can take me to another time and place and can be a profound learning experience. I knew close to nothing about the Japanese occupation of Korea from 1910 through WWII. Last year I read Tiger Pelt which introduced me...

Sam rated it ★★★★☆

February 09, 2017

Despite this being a 480 pg mini brick of a book, I absolutely flew through Pachinko on two commutes and a night. It's a sweeping, multi-generational epic of a Korean family, and we follow their collective and individual rises and falls, triumphs and failures, in 19010 - 1930 in Korea under Japan...

Thomas rated it ★★★★★

January 03, 2018

One of the most brilliant and heartbreaking books I have ever read, I would like to thank Min Jin Lee for writing Pachinko and starting my 2018 with this splendid saga. Pachinko follows four generations of a Korean family who move to Japan amidst Japanese colonization and political warfare. The n...

PorshaJo rated it ★★★★☆

February 21, 2018

Rating 3.75 I had gone back and forth on reading this one. I would get it from the library and return it. But it was a National Book Award finalist, so it should be good. My library got the audio and I had to wait months to get it, so it should be good. It's historical fiction and I love that, so...

Jeanette rated it ★★★☆☆

February 26, 2017

Just having finished this behemoth in the last hour, I want to put a disclaimer first. That reading this over a longer period of time than I would usually read a book, even of this length, probably made me MORE analytic than for my usual review. Or reaction. More critical. Because I truly wanted...

Cheri rated it ★★★★☆

February 09, 2017

!! NOW AVAILABLE !! 3.5 Stars rounded up Pachinko is a sweeping family saga listed as being for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. Following one Korean family through the years from Yeongdo, Busan, Korea where a poor fisherman and his wife give birth to a young infant boy. Hoonie, th...

Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.