Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking by Samin Nosrat

Into the Wild

Read Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking Online Free - New York Times Bestseller

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.



Title : Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1476753830
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 480 pages


Reviews


Chessa rated it ★★★★★

April 04, 2017

Full review at Leveled Up Reading I love a good cookbook, but Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat goes beyond the normal boundaries of the genre. I would almost say that this book is like the kosher salt in your kitchen - it's going to enhance alllll the other recipes and cookbooks in your life. Personally, I...


C rated it ★★★★★

July 23, 2017

This book is flat-out genius and more than deserves all the praise it received. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is far from a normal cookbook: Nosrat uses approachable, funny prose and helpful drawings to explain the basics of cooking and baking by considering the elements of salt, fat, acid, and heat. In...


Sarah rated it ★★★★☆

December 14, 2016

What a great idea for a cookbook! I feel like this should be required reading for anyone even marginally interested in cooking. For one thing, it's fascinating, and very well written. But perhaps more importantly, Ms. Nosrat provides a non-intimidating guide to correcting the mistakes (over- or u...


Bonny rated it ★★★☆☆

July 03, 2017

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat does offer an interesting way to think about the preparation of food, but I didn't find it “indispensable” or one that I “can't imagine living without” as Michael Pollan writes in the foreword. Author Samin Nosrat tells us that “there are only four basic factors that determi...


Cynthia rated it ★★★☆☆

June 07, 2017

I bought this after seeing her at an author talk. She's INCREDIBLY fun and lively and the book is wonderfully illustrated. She brings a lot of cooking experience, humor, and scientific knowledge to her explanation of how an understanding of the four basics of salt, fat, acid and heat can enable y...


Morgane rated it ★★★★★

May 27, 2017

What a pleasure to read! The first half of the book explains the four elements (salt, fat, acid, heat); the second half has recipe suggestions based off those elements. Overall the whole book is designed to encourage you to experiment. There are small sections where Nosrat breaks down different co...


Melissa rated it ★★★★★

June 11, 2017

Part "this is why we cook food the way we do" guide, part cookbook. 100% delightful. Nosrat's writing style and tone are easy to understand and completely not-intimidating. While reading this I was inspired to try some changes in the way I cook based on her advice in each chapter - it seemed to w...


Audrey rated it ★★★★★

August 13, 2017

I cannot say enough about how thoroughly I loved this book. It is essential. Samin is not only a great cook, she's a wonderful writer, funny, and the book itself is beautiful. I feel an affinity with Samin even though I've never met her. I learned so much from this book, even though I've been coo...


Gloria rated it ★★★★☆

July 17, 2017

A cookbook that takes a very different approach to teaching foodies how to improve their cooking skills. This chef has worked for and trained with top chefs around the world and yet has a very folksy way of explaining concepts. I learned a few things and that's the best endorsement I can give. In...


Gretchen rated it ★★★★★

July 23, 2017

This is really more of a textbook than a cookbook. Understanding the principles behind salt, fat, acid, and heat legit helped me level up as a cook. I think differently about cooking now and I'm very grateful to Samin Nosrat. Wendy MacNaughton's charming illustrations make this volume even more e...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.