The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish

Into the Wild

Read The Weight of Ink Online Free - An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book.

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.   

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.”   

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind.



Title : The Weight of Ink
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0544866460
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 576 pages


Reviews


Jaline rated it ★★★★★

November 10, 2017

This book is a journey – through time (1600’s, mid-1900’s and early 2000) and space (Amsterdam, Israel, and London) whose only requirement is that we give ourselves over to the story being told and flow with it. I loved this book. The writing is exceptional and although it deals with history and p...


Ioana rated it ★★★★★

September 16, 2017

Unlimited stars!!! WOW. SWOON. Fanning self. Holy Mother of Books. Absolutely awestruck by the pure MAGNIFICENCE of this BRILLIANT mellifluous poetic historically rich masterpiece... Unadulterated GENIUS. Whoa. AAA! I'm sure I could not string enough accolades together to do justice to Kadish's w...


Stephen rated it ★★★★☆

July 06, 2017

I don’t need plot. Most of the time I choose books that don’t have such a thing or that I spend time performing rituals and rites in hope that one won’t appear. So what is it with this book that it is about plot, wonderfully plotted, yet I cannot leave it for long or if I do I can’t wait to retur...


Conrad rated it ★★★★★

August 17, 2017

Kadish wrote The Weight of Ink for people who love to read and who love books. This is not a book for the casual, story-seeker. It’s long, layered, epic in scope and covers several weighted thought-topics about gender, sexuality, religion, time and all that other life-affirming stuff. I could say...


Kathryn rated it ★★★★★

June 18, 2017

I received this book as a free Goodreads giveaway and had no expectations. Fast-forward eight days and I feel as though the author reached into my soul and twisted until I believed I was living in the pages of her book. I don't know if that makes sense, but after the initial few chapters I found...


Jeanette rated it ★★★★★

December 04, 2017

Oh! Oh! Oh! Do you love the written word? Are you a patsy for any historical site and love to read history books for fun? Are you part philosopher? Does your birth position within the era, family order, vocational direction and almost any other category you can define which could describe the inte...


Amy rated it ★★★★★

July 15, 2017

I really liked this book--it's got a quiet intensity about it, much like its characters, who are academics all, and of the restrained type. The three points of view--Helen, a Gentile historian on the brink of retirement; Aaron, a Jewish-American graduate student; and Ester, a scribe-by-chance liv...


Lorna rated it ★★★★★

January 18, 2018

The Weight of Ink is a beautiful and intricate tale of two women living almost four hundred years apart. Ester Velasquez fled Portugal to Amsterdam at the time of the Inquisition and then emigrated to London in the mid-1660's when she is given the opportunity to scribe for a Jewish rabbi. Helen...


Margaret rated it ★★★★★

January 21, 2018

5/5 Rachel Kadish’s The Weight of Ink is simply my favorite read of 2017. Its basic structure consists of two alternating narratives. The first, taking place in London in the late seventeenth century, contain the writings of Ester Velasquez, a young Sephardic Jew who was born in Portugal, grew up...


Anna rated it ★★★★★

June 28, 2017

Not for a long while has a book so utterly consumed me with its intricate story--the undeniable grace of its complex narrative. To say I could do little else the last few days but read it is an understatement. The scope and depth of Rachel Kadish's achievement, her life-gift to the world, fills m...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.