The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish

Into the Wild

Read The Weight of Ink Online Free - An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book.

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.   

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.”   

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind.



Title : The Weight of Ink
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0544866460
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 576 pages


Reviews


Stephen rated it ★★★★☆

July 06, 2017

I don’t need plot. Most of the time I choose books that don’t have such a thing or that I spend time performing rituals and rites in hope that one won’t appear. So what is it with this book that it is about plot, wonderfully plotted, yet I cannot leave it for long or if I do I can’t wait to retur...


Ioana rated it ★★★★★

September 16, 2017

Unlimited stars!!! WOW. SWOON. Fanning self. Holy Mother of Books. Absolutely awestruck by the pure MAGNIFICENCE of this BRILLIANT mellifluous poetic historically rich masterpiece... Unadulterated GENIUS. Whoa. AAA! I'm sure I could not string enough accolades together to do justice to Kadish's w...


Conrad rated it ★★★★★

August 17, 2017

Kadish wrote The Weight of Ink for people who love to read and who love books. This is not a book for the casual, story-seeker. It’s long, layered, epic in scope and covers several weighted thought-topics about gender, sexuality, religion, time and all that other life-affirming stuff. I could say...


Kathryn rated it ★★★★★

June 18, 2017

I received this book as a free Goodreads giveaway and had no expectations. Fast-forward eight days and I feel as though the author reached into my soul and twisted until I believed I was living in the pages of her book. I don't know if that makes sense, but after the initial few chapters I found...


Amy rated it ★★★★★

July 15, 2017

I really liked this book--it's got a quiet intensity about it, much like its characters, who are academics all, and of the restrained type. The three points of view--Helen, a Gentile historian on the brink of retirement; Aaron, a Jewish-American graduate student; and Ester, a scribe-by-chance liv...


Anna rated it ★★★★★

June 28, 2017

Not for a long while has a book so utterly consumed me with its intricate story--the undeniable grace of its complex narrative. To say I could do little else the last few days but read it is an understatement. The scope and depth of Rachel Kadish's achievement, her life-gift to the world, fills m...


Bonnie rated it ★★★★★

July 24, 2017

A couple has inherited an old house in a suburb of London. As they remodel, they find some ancient documents under their stairs. Upon seeing that the leather binder looks very old and the lettering might be in Hebrew, they contact Helen Watt, a professor of Hebraic studies at a nearby university....


Robin rated it ★★★★★

June 24, 2017

There's some books that speak to your soul and that inspire the mind and touch the heart and The Weight of Ink is one such novel. It did remind me of A.S. Byatt's Possession or Elizabeth Gilbert's "Signature of All Things", Serena Jeter Naslund's "Ahab's Wife". This is a saga of a story that neve...


Susu rated it ★★★★★

August 16, 2017

Best book I've read this year!


Elizabeth rated it ★★★★☆

July 21, 2017

Book blurb: Set in the London of the 1660s and of the early 21st century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city, and Helen Watt,...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.