It All Comes Down to This by Karen English

Into the Wild

Read It All Comes Down to This Online Free - It’s 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she’s the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. There’s also her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought. 

      Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.



Title : It All Comes Down to This
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0544839579
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 368 pages


Reviews


Alisha Marie rated it ★★★★☆

July 10, 2017

It All Comes Down to This is a really great read. Despite the fact that there's not much plot action happening, I've always enjoyed coming-of-age stories and this one is really well done. The Good: I absolutely adored the relationship between Sophie and Lily. I'm a sucker for a good sister relatio...


Laura rated it ★★★★☆

February 07, 2017

I was intrigued by this book because Sophie is growing up in L.A. about the same time that I was growing up in L.A. There are two differences though, she is living in a different part of L.A. and she is black, or as she would say "colored". She lives in an all white neighborhood, but is sort of O...


Brittany rated it ★★★★☆

July 20, 2017

This is a classic coming-of-age story as 12-almost-13-year-old Sophie navigates finding and losing friends, the eventual loss of her sister to college and the tumultuous relationship of her parents. Set in the 1960s in a primarily white, upper-middle-class neighborhood, Sophie and her family are...


Maywoodbooks rated it ★★★★☆

July 31, 2017

It was really good- the only thing I'm torn over is its classification. I think it is great for the age of the main character (around 13 years old, freshman) but that creates a bit of a conflict: maybe too young for the average YA shelf, maybe too old for the average juvenile fiction shelf. Perso...


Sumaya rated it ★★★★☆

May 16, 2017

Books like It All Comes Down to This are reminders that while it isn’t as bad as before, we need to do better. For a full review, follow the link: https://suereadingcorner.wordpress.co...


Divena rated it ★★★★★

February 15, 2017

I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was a great read. Though I did not grow up in the time period Sophie did many of the issues dealt with in this novel resonate today. I identified with her feelings of being an outsider growing up in a mostly white neighbo...


Melissa rated it ★★★★★

February 26, 2017

I received an ARC from NetGalley called 'It All Comes Down to This' by Karen English, and here is my unbiased review. I'm not sure if the author intended this story to pull on the heartstrings, but I couldn't help but have a little cry at the end of it. Possibly it is a cry for having to leave Sop...


Cheriee rated it ★★★★☆

June 24, 2017

I read this book through Netgalley. It will be published on July 11, 2017. Preorder your copy now. I am fascinated by historical fiction that takes place in my lifetime. On the one hand, it takes me back to my youth where I can re experience the events I lived through. On the other, novels like t...


Lynn rated it ★★★★★

July 24, 2017

I rad another book by Karen English that was for younger kids; about late 1st, 2nd grade and wrote a a negative review because it was so sparse and to me uninteresting. It was a beginning reader's book about skateboarding and pretty thin. Now I feel guilty, the novel, It All Comes Down To This is...


Laura rated it ★★★★★

August 15, 2017

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 for book 44 of #30booksummer and yesterday's #bookaday. // It's 1965 in Los Angeles and Sophie is trying to enjoy her summer. Her family is one of the only black families in their middle class neighborhood. Some neighbors are prejudiced and won't let her swim in their pool or even walk by...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.