Narrow River, Wide Sky: A Memoir by Jenny Forrester

Into the Wild

Read Narrow River, Wide Sky: A Memoir Online Free - In the vein of The Liar's Club and The Glass Castle, Jenny Forrester's memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag. Forrester’s powerfully eloquent story reveals a rural small town comprising God-fearing Republicans, ranchers, Mormons, and Native Americans. With sensitivity and resilience, Forrester navigates feelings of isolation, an abusive boyfriend, sexual assault, and a failed college attempt to forge a separate identity. As young adults, after their mother’s accidental death, Forrester and her brother are left with an increasingly strained relationship that becomes a microcosm of America’s political landscape. Narrow River, Wide Sky is a breathtaking, determinedly truthful story about one woman’s search for identity within the mythology of family and America itself.



Title : Narrow River, Wide Sky: A Memoir
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0997068353
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 212 pages


Reviews


Julie Christine rated it ★★★★☆

July 15, 2017

“Where do we bury our mothers when there is nowhere we belong?” Narrow River, Wide Sky is a flint of words that sparks themes of place and family and the crushing weight of imposed religious morality. Jenny Forrester recounts life in a remote Colorado town, marked by poverty and violence, promiscu...


Deb rated it ★★★★★

May 07, 2017

Jenny Forrester’s debut book Narrow River, Wide Sky will make you breathe the way an old-school slide show does. Oohs and ahhs, like when she describes “where a creek flowed into the narrow river from the high mountains to the south and spread out into the grassy pasture where the rosehips grew.”...


Tracy rated it ★★★★★

June 06, 2017

I don't generally write reviews, but I loved this beautiful, heartbreaking book and want others to read it. I admired the way the story goes into dark places, but does so with curiosity and open-heartedness, and without exaggeration or blame. I'm also a sucker for a story that can bring me into p...


Olivia rated it ★★★★★

June 13, 2017

I loved this book. Having grown up in the southwest, too, I could almost smell the air from back home while reading this. I recognized her characters, including the landscape, and walked away feeling a little less alone in my complicated relationship with where I'm from.


Tracett rated it ★★★★★

November 23, 2017

I had to wait a month after reading this to write a review. I needed her words to settle in. The honesty of the clear-eyed telling of Forrester’s youth is a little bone shaking. While there’s plenty of tough living here, don’t overlook the surprise dry humor she sneaks in. A harsh and beautiful m...


Kelly rated it ★★★★★

June 03, 2017

Just as I was finishing Narrow River, Wide Sky by Jenny Forrester the power went out. When I closed the book I went to write about it on my computer but then I remembered the power was out. So I'm sitting here on the porch in the peaceful Colorado early evening and absorbing the beauty of this sto...


Naomi rated it ★★★★★

October 04, 2017

Jenny Forrester’s memoir, Narrow River, Wide Sky is an honest and brave account of a child finding her place and herself among the Colorado landscape. Her story centers around her relationship with her mother, as complicated as all mother-daughter relationships are; full of strength, adoration an...


Mary rated it ★★★★★

May 07, 2017

Loved this memoir by Jenny Forrester. Compelling, page-turning yet never overly dramatic. Truth-telling and vulnerable yet never whiney. Jenny has worked hard, in both prose, and apparently life, to understand the nuances and complexities of life. She creates vivid images of the world she inhabit...


Shari rated it ★★★★★

May 11, 2017

Jenny Forrester's new memoir is gorgeously written; she is both unflinchingly honest and generous of heart when she navigates the tricky territories of family and the ways in which place can shape our identities. And while her story is grounded in a very specific time and place, the truth of the...


Kathy rated it ★★★☆☆

September 15, 2017

Read this last week because it was a clean, new book that did not weigh too much for me to carry home from the library. Knew nothing about it or any previously published stories by this author. This book is lyrically written with knife-edge honesty and meaningful especially for those who study mo...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.