Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia

Into the Wild

Read Clayton Byrd Goes Underground Online Free - 5 Starred Reviews!

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord"—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart.” School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words.” —Booklist (starred review)

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.



Title : Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062215949
Edition Language : English
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 176 pages


Reviews


Hannah rated it ★★★★☆

September 06, 2017

Click here to watch a video review of this book on my channel, From Beginning to Bookend. Clayton Byrd delights in playing music with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and his band of Bluesmen. Though he’s occasionally permitted to join in on his blues harp, Clayton longs for his own twelve-bar so...


Laura rated it ★★★☆☆

July 03, 2017

This book breaks my heart. There was so much potential. I loved every moment of this title until Clayton's grandfather dies. Clayton gets in trouble for his incredibly poor behavior in school (he falls asleep during required class reading of a book his grandfather used to read to him at night and...


Brandy rated it ★★★☆☆

March 31, 2017

Clayton is an excellent main character. He is grieving the death of his grandfather and trying to navigate all those emotions while his mom is dealing with it in exactly the opposite way he needs. The inter-generational struggles here and how we carry the baggage of disappointing relationships in...


Destinee rated it ★★★☆☆

July 28, 2017

Beautifully written, but not very satisfying. I'm torn. I did feel very strongly about one thing. Clayton's mother was *so* frustrating. You can tell she's trying to be a perfect mother, but to me it seemed like she did everything wrong. She didn't respect Clayton's relationship with Cool Papa. I...


Mary Ann rated it ★★★★★

May 30, 2017

Young African-American Clayton Byrd yearns “to be a true bluesman among bluesmen,” playing blues harp alongside his grandfather Cool Papa Byrd and his band. When Cool Papa dies suddenly in his sleep, Clayton grieves deeply, his loss amplified by his mother’s anger toward her father’s blues playin...


Michele rated it ★★★★☆

August 04, 2017

This book puts your heart through the wringer!


Ms. rated it ★★★☆☆

March 10, 2017

ARC from Publisher at ALA Clayton loves to hang out with his grandfather, Cool Papa, and play the blues at Washington Square Park with his grandfather's band. Clayton desperately wants to have a solo, but Cool Papa tells him he's not quite ready. The two do this whenever Clayton's mother has a lon...


Samantha rated it ★★★★☆

June 15, 2017

Clayton and his grandfather share a close bond and a love of the blues. When Clayton's grandfather passes away suddenly, he is lost in his grief. His mother isn't processing her grief in a similar fashion, she is selling his grandfather's prized possessions, which feels like she's trying to erase...


Jordan rated it ★★☆☆☆

June 28, 2017

Reminds me a bit of Jason Reynolds' GHOST, but not near as authentic in voice as that title was. And like that title, I didn't really get much out of this one. I did not care for the first half of this novel. Cool Papa passes away just after we're introduced to him and the plot of the first half...


Molly rated it ★★★☆☆

June 12, 2017

Clayton Bryd's Cool Papa Byrd, his grandfather who loves the Blues as much as he loves Clayton, passes away unexpectedly leaving Clayton heartbroken and his mother angrily selling all his possessions. While dealing with his grief, Clayton tries to bury himself in his music, while his mother forbi...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.