Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

Into the Wild

Read Ramona Blue Online Free - For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson comes this sharp and thought-provoking novel about modern love, family, and the labels that we just can’t seem to escape—from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever. Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. One of only two out lesbians in her small town and standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the responsible adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, her responsibilities weigh more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

As Ramona falls more in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift as well, and she must decide if knowing who she is is more important than figuring out who she might become.



Title : Ramona Blue
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062418351
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages


Reviews


Cait • A Page with a View rated it ★★★★★

August 13, 2017

This was one of the most beautifully honest books I've ever found. It took me like twice as long to read it at a super slow pace because I was so into everything! I think I highlighted half of this book... "You don't have to give into the idea that your life is supposed to turn out a certain way....


Reagan rated it ★☆☆☆☆

May 28, 2017

how can you not understand the negative ramifications that writing a book where a lesbian finds the 'right guy' and is magically Not A Lesbian anymore is going to have.....like its literally an idea that actively harms ACTUAL lesbians oh my god Edit since yall wont leave me tf alone: okay so even...


Adam rated it ★★★★★

February 07, 2017

Official blurb: "Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one's heart. Ramona Blue's discovery of limitless love is total beauty." I love love love love this book. There's a scene toward the end I can't stop thinking about. For those who want a h...


Ava rated it ★★★★★

April 02, 2017

Actual rating: 4/5 stars THIS BOOK. Pay absolutely no attention to the low rating on Goodreads. It's because a large amount of biphobic people were misled by the synopsis and rated it 1 star without listening to reviews of people who ACTUALLY read the book. This book deserves so many more stars th...


Shelly rated it ★★★★★

April 07, 2017

Now that I've read Ramona Blue, I can tell you that my excitement for it was totally founded. Ramona is definitely a complicated individual, and reading her journey was intense. While the uproar about this novel focused on her sexuality, a big part of the novel is about Ramona figuring out her pl...


Janie rated it ★☆☆☆☆

December 01, 2016

From the premise alone, I'm already pretty irritated, especially coming from an intensely religious background. This is the type of thing in which the traditional homophobes pervading my youth would rejoice, as a weapon to combat lesbianism and female attraction towards the same sex in general. U...


Cesar rated it ★★★★☆

September 02, 2017

(Actual review) 4 stars I've waited so long for this book to be released and I finally finished it! But before we get to the review, let's talk about the 'controversy' behind this book as it garnered a lot of attention. If you have had your eyes on Ramona Blue for a while, then you would know the or...


Trina (Between Chapters) rated it ★★★★★

June 24, 2017

One of the best contemporaries I've read this year! I did have a little trouble getting into it at first. I think too much time was spent on setting things up that only served as backstory. However, later in the book I was glad we'd seen that backstory first hand because it did help you see where...


Romie rated it ★★☆☆☆

June 28, 2017

Wrote this 31/03/17 : I'm pretty excited to read this tbh. And yes I feel the need to write my thoughts on this book because I saw all the negativity this book received and it makes me sick. Let me tell you something : someone can ID as gay and then ID as bisexual, and it doesn't make this book le...


Shauna rated it ★★★★★

May 09, 2017

I'm rating this book 5-stars to offset the biphobic reviews further down, but I'd say it's 4-stars actual. Ramona Blue's protagonist is a 6'3" gay teen living in Southern Mississippi in a beach town. Her life is spent going to school, working to help support her family, and hanging out with her b...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.