The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable

Into the Wild

Read The Book of Summer Online Free - Physician Bess Codman has returned to her family's Nantucket compound, Cliff House, for the first time in four years. Her great-grandparents built Cliff House almost a century before, but due to erosion, the once-grand home will soon fall into the sea. Though she s purposefully avoided the island, Bess must now pack up the house and deal with her mother, a notorious town rabble-rouser, who refuses to leave.

The Book of Summer unravels the power and secrets of Cliff House as told through the voices of Ruby Packard, a bright-eyed and idealistic newlywed on the eve of WWII, the home's definitive guestbook, and Bess herself. Bess's grandmother always said it was a house of women, and by the very last day of the very last summer at Cliff House, Bess will understand the truth of her grandmother s words in ways she never contemplated.



Title : The Book of Summer
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1250070627
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 432 pages


Reviews


Michelle rated it ★★★★★

November 11, 2016

COMING OUT 5.9.2017! Confession time: if novels are children, this is my favorite book kid by far. I conceived of THE BOOK OF SUMMER after reading an article in Vanity Fair about the gorgeous, grand homes on the Sankaty Bluff in Siasconset (known as Sconset), the easternmost spot on Nantucket Isla...


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader rated it ★★★★☆

April 16, 2017

This beauty was a bookmail surprise this week! I was in the mood for a beach read, and this highly entertaining jaunt, with plenty of substance, was perfect. If you've ever fallen in love with a house; the history, the memories, the connections to generations of your family within those walls, th...


Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews rated it ★★★★☆

May 09, 2017

A summer home filled with years of memories, a book filled with years of written memories, and a home that is eroding away and about to fall off the cliff. The Cliff House, appropriately named, has been the summer home on Nantucket for the Young/Packard/Codman family for over one hundred years. Th...


Cindy rated it ★★★★☆

February 19, 2017

The Book of Summer takes place in Nantucket and focuses on the women of Cliff House, a beautiful home that is slowly falling into the sea due to erosion. The story is told in a dual timeline format with the inclusion of sporadic newspaper articles and entries in the Book of Summer, a book in whic...


Elizabeth rated it ★★★★★

April 20, 2017

I started this day thinking I'd get some housework done, but I started reading Michelle Gable's new novel coming out soon and completely got sucked in! I spent the entire day reading! That doesn't happen often and I'm so glad it did! "The Book of Summer" is a perfect read for me. It has a lot of f...


Judy rated it ★★★★★

May 10, 2017

Storyteller, Michelle Gable returns following I’ll See You in Paris and A Paris Apartment with her latest Nantucket summer charmer (her best yet): THE BOOK OF SUMMER — a multi-generational story of family, home, the courage of tenacious women and the special memories of Cliff House. Rich in...


TL rated it ★★★☆☆

April 02, 2017

I received this via Goodreads Giveaways in an exchange for an honest review.. all my opinions are my own :) ---- It may have been her first book and I don't know if it was on Amazon or Goodreads I saw this but I remembering seeing "Perfect for fans of Kate Morton".. not exact phrasing (it was a bit...


Susan rated it ★★★★☆

May 11, 2017

The Book of Summer Michelle Gable Received from Netgalley Bess Codman has just returned to her family's home in Nantucket. She is shocked by the condition of Cliff House. It is just about to fall into the ocean and she can't believe her mother is actually staying inside of it. She tries to convince...


Hristina rated it ★★★★☆

April 22, 2017

Copy received through NetGalley Mrs. Gable is consistent with her writing. You always end up with an interesting story, told with beautiful writing, and masterfully executed dual storyline. The Book of Summer it's a really entertaining read. Beautifully paced with characters that shine, and a great...


Sue rated it ★★★★★

February 13, 2017

I loved this book. All of the main characters were fantastic and so well written with all of their character flaws on display. The main characters are Bess - a physician from California who has returned to Nantucket to help her mom pack up her house; Cissy - Bess's mom who is a real rebel; Ruby -...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.