The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken

Into the Wild

Read The Book of Mistakes Online Free - Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.



Title : The Book of Mistakes
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0735227926
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 56 pages


Reviews


David rated it ★★★★★

November 08, 2017

Each year my family reads all the Goodreads-award-nominated picture books, and we have been doing this for years. Everyone rates each book and adds a comment and it may (or may not) affect my overall rating. This is book #5 of 2017. Tara: (5 stars). Steam punky. My favorite so far this year. Harry...


Kelli rated it ★★★★★

May 21, 2017

My son is past the age of simple picture books, but he enjoys the snuggle/reading time with me, so I try to choose wisely. This book is beautiful and inspiring. I love everything about the message...one we all could do well to remember: mistakes happen to everyone and some amazing things start ou...


Raina rated it ★★★★★

November 08, 2017

SO GORGEOUS. And local! Hopefully, she uses our libraries! This isn't right for storytime, bc the illustrations are too detailed for a large group share, but srsly pick it up to read yourself. So fresh and stunning.


Danielle rated it ★★★★★

March 06, 2017

Gorgeous illustrations in an extra large format with lots of white space. This tells a poetic story of mistakes leading to magic, as they sometimes do in the creative process.


Laura rated it ★★★★☆

June 16, 2017

What a creatively odd, little, book!


Kate rated it ★★★★★

February 05, 2017

A beautiful children's book that shows how mistakes help make us who we are. Gorgeous illustrations and a message that we all need to hear- mistakes can lead to something beautiful!


Mary rated it ★★★★☆

January 26, 2017

The illustrations are BEAUTIFUL! The story is super sweet and encouraging. Great for a small-group read-aloud (K-2nd) and great for discussion on turning mistakes into something great!


Jana rated it ★★★★☆

May 20, 2017

This beautifully illustrated picture book would be great to help instill a growth mindset in young readers. The author takes what she considers to be mistakes and transforms them into something else that works better. So many of my students wad up their paper, throw it away, and want another shee...


Zaz rated it ★★★★☆

November 09, 2017

It was an unusual picture book. I really enjoyed to see the images evolve from something simple, or a mistake, to a complex illustration. It was the strong point of the read as the book lacked a true narrative story. Anyway, the message behind it was interesting. I'm not sure it's a good picture...


Franki rated it ★★★★★

May 27, 2017

LOVE this one!





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.