An Uninterrupted View of the Sky by Melanie Crowder

Into the Wild

Read An Uninterrupted View of the Sky Online Free - Modern history unearthed as a boy becomes an innocent victim of corruption in the underbelly of Bolivia's crime world, where the power of family is both a prison and the only means of survival.

It's 1999 in Bolivia and Francisco's life consists of school, soccer, and trying to find space for himself in his family's cramped yet boisterous home. But when his father is arrested on false charges and sent to prison by a corrupt system that targets the uneducated, the poor, and the indigenous majority, Francisco's mother abandons hope and her family. Francisco and his sister are left with no choice: They must move into the prison with their father. There, they find a world unlike anything they've ever known, where everything—a door, a mattress, protection from other inmates—has its price.

Prison life is dirty, dire, and dehumanizing. With their lives upended, Francisco faces an impossible decision: Break up the family and take his sister to their grandparents in the Andean highlands, fleeing the city and the future that was just within his grasp, or remain together in the increasingly dangerous prison. Pulled between two equally undesirable options, Francisco must confront everything he once believed about the world around him and his place within it.

In this heart-wrenching novel inspired by real events, Melanie Crowder sheds light on a little-known era of modern South American history—where injustice still darkens the minds and hearts of people alike—and proves that hope can be found, even in the most desperate places.

Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, Matt de la Pena, and Jacqueline Woodson.

Title : An Uninterrupted View of the Sky
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0399169008
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Brandy rated it ★★★★★

July 30, 2017

Originally posted here at Random Musings of a Bibliophile. You know how when you read a book that opens your eyes to something you never knew about, it can come to mean the world to you almost instantly? When it rips your heart open and makes you love the characters, it has even more impact. This...

Meg rated it ★★★★★

June 12, 2017

A gut wrenching yet heart warming story about the unconsidered consequences of the US war on drugs on families in Colombia. Told with honesty and sensitivity.

Alicia rated it ★★☆☆☆

July 11, 2017

No one will argue that stories like these are the stories that should be written about but not all books should be on the shelf just because there needs to be more content like it. 1999, Bolivia, war on drugs and penal codes = disaster for Francisco's family after their father's false arrest. But...

Lindsey rated it ★★★★☆

July 18, 2017

This book was really touching and moving. I even cried a little bit!

Kristen rated it ★★★★★

July 08, 2017

This book is so important: it's a story that needs to get told. With lyrical writing and a voice that is real and multi-faceted, An Uninterrupted View of the Sky opens a dialogue about the political, economical, and social situations in Bolivia and the U.S.'s role in all of it--while never losing...

Donsou rated it ★★★★★

January 03, 2018

I recently was able to complete this book in December. This book takes place in 1999 in a crime and government corrupted country of Bolivia. Fransisco lacks off in school, he plays soccer, and in his view, he is living his happy lives. But then his world turns upside down when his father is arrest...

Barbara rated it ★★★★☆

March 06, 2018

Seventeen-year-old Francisco has his plans for the future derailed when his father is arrested on false drug charges and sent to prison in Cochabamba, Bolivia, in 1999. When his mother abandons them, Francisco and his little sister, Pilar, must move into the prison to stay with their father. Cond...

Anne rated it ★★★★☆

February 12, 2018

Francisco lives in Bolivia with his mother, father, and little sister. It's 1999. His dad drives taxi; his mom works in a bank. One day his dad gets (falsely) arrested. Mom abandons the family and so Francisco and Pilar must move into the prison with dad. (Yes, it's a very different system than h...

Cindy rated it ★★★★★

September 09, 2017

Crowder, Melanie An Uninterrupted View of the Sky, 286 pages. Philomel (Penguin), 2017. Language: PG (14 swears, 0 ‘f’); Mature Content: PG (possibility of rape avoided); Violence: PG-13 (beatings, fights). Francisco, 17, and his family lead a poor, but loving life in a poor part of a Bolivian cit...

Lesley rated it ★★★★★

January 29, 2018

When we read historical fiction or fiction based on fact, we don’t just learn about events, we experience events from the perspective of people—real or fictional—who lived through it and bear witness to the impact those events had on people. When I read Melanie Crowder’s Audacity, I not only lear...

Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.