Perennials by Mandy Berman

Into the Wild

Read Perennials Online Free - The quintessential summer read: a sharp, poignant coming-of-age novel about the magic of camp and the enduring power of female friendship, for readers of Stephanie Danler, Anton DiSclafani, Jennifer Close, and Curtis Sittenfeld.

At what point does childhood end and adulthood begin? Mandy Berman's evocative debut novel captures, through the lens of summer camp, a place that only appears to be untouched by the passing of time, both the thrills and pain of growing up.

Rachel Rivkin and Fiona Larkin used to treasure their summers together as campers at Camp Marigold. Now, reunited as counselors after their first year of college, their relationship is more complicated. Rebellious Rachel, a street-smart city kid raised by a single mother, has been losing patience with her best friend's insecurities; Fiona, the middle child of a not-so-perfect suburban family, envies Rachel's popularity with their campers and fellow counselors. For the first time, the two friends start keeping secrets from each other. Through them, as well as from the perspectives of their fellow counselors, campers, and families, we witness the tensions of the turbulent summer build to a tragic event, which forces Rachel and Fiona to confront their pasts and the adults they're becoming.

A seductive blast of nostalgia, a striking portrait of adolescent longing, and a tribute to both the complicated nature and the enduring power of female friendship, Perennials will speak to everyone who still remembers that bittersweet moment when innocence is lost forever.



Title : Perennials
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0399589317
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 288 pages


Reviews


Larry rated it ★★★☆☆

March 02, 2017

I attended a sleep-away summer camp in the Catskills Mountains for 10 years, from the summer I was 10 until the summer I was 19. It's crazy to think that I started there nearly 40(!) years ago, and made some incredible friendships which have sustained through all this time, thanks in some part to...


Liz rated it ★★★☆☆

May 17, 2017

2.5 stars This book is slow and with very little action. Two girls are long time friends from their summers at camp. They come from very different backgrounds, one living in NYC with her single mother and the other from a well off family in the suburbs. Unfortunately, I found it very hard to care...


Toni rated it ★★★★☆

March 09, 2017

Wow! This is not just a fun nostalgic read of your camp days. This is a powerful book, similar to "Beartown," about the secrets we hide as a community, a society, etc. just so we fit in. The right social circles, the right schools, neighborhoods, cliques, and maybe even summer camps. It starts in...


Regina rated it ★★☆☆☆

March 29, 2017

This is another example of a book I really wanted to like. The sleepaway camp setting is one I am familiar with, and I was very interested in seeing how the friendship between Rachel and Fiona grew and changed, as per the summary. What I got instead - a mix of random characters, way too many char...


Sarah rated it ★★★☆☆

June 05, 2017

A slow moving book that suddenly and surprisingly fits in a lot of heavier subject matter toward the end. I would have liked it more if we had just been dealing with less characters. Even reading the book in one sitting, I had a hard time keeping track of who was who. I feel like eliminating at l...


Lorilin rated it ★★★☆☆

May 29, 2017

Despite coming from radically different family backgrounds, Rachel and Fiona are quick to become best friends when they first meet at Camp Marigold over summer break. Even though they see each other three months out of the year, over time, their friendship only grows stronger. Eventually they ret...


Cody rated it ★☆☆☆☆

July 19, 2017

I never went to summer camp when I was growing up. I wasn't deprived, or anything like that. My parents would have let me go, had I asked — I simply was (and am) of the antisocial sort. I was the type of kid to haunt the local library during summer break. I wasn't one for physical activity. LOL....


Annie ~ The Misstery rated it ★★★★★

June 22, 2017

To be honest, as soon as I read the blurb, I was already in love with this novel. Female friendships AND camp? Count me in! And yes. I’m perfectly aware that most of the reviews aren’t glowing and that some of you didn’t fall in love with this book as I did. But hey, sometimes those books are the...


Lisa D - rated it ★☆☆☆☆

April 26, 2017

This one, for me, was kind of a hot mess. Lots of story lines that never really came together into a cohesive plot. Characters that had sub plot lines that were completely unnecessary and added nothing to the story. I felt we never got enough from Rachel or Fiona who were the main characters. How...


Sam rated it ★★★★☆

December 19, 2016

Review forthcoming.





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.