SLAM! Vol. 1 by Pamela Ribon

Into the Wild

Read SLAM! Vol. 1 Online Free - In the fast-paced, hard-hitting, super cheeky, all-female world of banked track roller derby, two young women will have to decide if their budding friendship is stronger than the pull of a team when a win is on the line.

When life starts coming at you like a freight train, you have two options: run away screaming or lean into the hit.

From the first day of Fresh Meat Orientation for the Eastside Roller Girls, Jennifer and Maisie knew they’d be fast friends. But when they’re drafted to different teams, the pull of competition — and their increasingly messy personal lives — threaten to drive them apart. In roller derby you take your hits, get back up, and learn how to be a better jammer, a better blocker, a better lover, and a better friend. Derby can heal your heart . . . but it might break a bone or two in the process.

Bestselling novelist, screenwriter, and retired Los Angeles Derby Doll Pamela Ribon (Going In Circles, Why Girls Are Weird) joins artist Veronica Fish (Archie, Silk) for a tale of friendship, heartbreak, and truly epic jams.



Title : SLAM! Vol. 1
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1684150043
Edition Language : English
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 0 pages


Reviews


Nat rated it ★★★★☆

August 07, 2017

In the fast-paced, hard-hitting, super cheeky, all-female world of banked track roller derby, two young women will have to decide if their budding friendship is stronger than the pull of a team when a win is on the line. Reading this comic right after having watched the Netflix series GLOW felt...


Lola rated it ★★★☆☆

October 25, 2017

3.5 stars. That was… so fast. And I’m not talking about the sport. Of course, roller derby is a sport that requires speed, but absolutely everything in this comic is fast. So you have to keep up. Sometimes it’s a good thing, because it keeps the reader interested. Other times it’s unfortunate, espe...


Maria rated it ★★★★☆

November 26, 2017

-- I have had this one sitting on my shelf for a little while now and I finally found the time to pick it up! I'm glad I did as I ended up really enjoying it! It's filled with badass women playing one of the craziest sports I've ever come across. Seriously, roller derby gives football and hockey a...


Bookishrealm rated it ★★★★☆

December 03, 2017

This was such a cute comic! I've heard of roller derby but this definitely gave me a better and more in-depth explanation of the game. We follow two main characters who go from being rookies to a part of a team. It was amazing to see their growth and development as players and as individuals. Thr...


Ashley rated it ★★★★☆

August 14, 2017

Honestly, between Giant Days and Lumberjanes and this, Boom Box is becoming a must read publisher for me. I adored this graphic. I loved the art and the realistic story. I found it went a bit too fast for me, almost like they didn't flesh out the stories enough, but I still THOROUGHLY enjoyed it....


Emma rated it ★★★★☆

September 06, 2017

Really enjoyed this! Solid story and great art by Veronica. Have been such a huge fan of her work on the Archie, Silk, and Spider-Woman series so have been looking forward to this one for ages. Definitely delivered! Highly recommend for fans of Roller Girl, Whip It, and Netflix's Glow.


LibraryDanielle rated it ★★★★★

August 18, 2017

#accurate


Rachel rated it ★★★★☆

October 13, 2017

Well, that was just delightful.


Greyson (Grey) rated it ★★★★☆

December 10, 2017

This year I am doing Graphic Novel December. My plan is it to read one GN for each day of the month. So 31 in total! I'll keep a running total in the review of each GN as I read them to help me keep track and for anyone following to see where I am at as well! GN #1: Wonder Woman, Volume 1: The Lie...


Patb rated it ★★★★☆

October 30, 2017

Roller Derby! And friendships.





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.