A Stone of Hope by Jim St. Germain

Into the Wild

Read A Stone of Hope Online Free - In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.



Title : A Stone of Hope
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062458817
Edition Language : English
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


Winter Sophia Rose rated it ★★★★★

July 10, 2017

Emotional, Inspiring & Unforgettable! A Remarkable Read! I Loved It!


Jessica rated it ★★★★★

July 10, 2017

A Truly Transformative Experience That Jim St. Germain lived through his childhood is remarkable. That he emerged from it with the grace, dedication, desire, and tenacity to make a difference to children of color living in poverty and hopelessness is nothing short of a miracle. As St. Germain make...


Julianna rated it ★★★★★

July 02, 2017

Although arguably badly titled, A Stone of Hope is more than just a coming-of-age story. This inspiring memoir reads like fiction and is packed with gut-wrenching stories that remain unforgettable. St. Germain’s story is Ta-Nehisi Coates’s understanding of a black teenage boy’s world perspective...


Karlan rated it ★★★★☆

April 12, 2017

The author came to NYC from Haiti as a child to live in a small apt with many relatives who did not pay much attention to him. By age 14, he was involved in street drug dealing and entered the justice system. He was fortunate to be sent to a small group home, Boys Town, where he began to learn h...


Kelly rated it ★★★★★

July 19, 2017

Jim and his family left Haiti and moved to Brooklyn when he was a child. By the time he was a teenager, he was dealing drugs and had already been arrested multiple times. Before he could legally drive, he had been convicted of a felony. Generally speaking, we know how this story ends: life in pri...


Marisa rated it ★★★☆☆

July 22, 2017

Memoir of Jim St Germain, an advocate for rights within the juvenile justice system. He tells of his life emigrating to the US from Haiti, living in poverty in Brooklyn, being incarcerated as a minor and becoming a member of Boys Town which changed his life. This book was just alright. While I di...


Sheralee rated it ★★★★★

September 02, 2017

5 stars ✨ plus for Jim St. Germain! I'm white and fully aware that I grew up under the blanket of white privilege. I want and need to understand what is going on in the world around me. When I was younger, I couldn't understand why everyone wasn't equal. Laws had been passed, what is the problem...


Bakar rated it ★★★★★

September 12, 2017

This is a well written and inspiring book! Jim Germain shares his experiences falling in to the system and becoming a juvenile advocate. It is must read book for anyone interested in social justice!


Mary Jane rated it ★★★★☆

August 10, 2017

Honest Brilliant Tragic Hopeful All of the above!


Ann rated it ★★★★★

August 20, 2017

inspirational.





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.