Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero

Into the Wild

Read Meddling Kids Online Free - For fans of John Dies at the End and Welcome to Night Vale comes a tour de force of horror, humor, and H.P. Lovecraft. The surviving members of a forgotten teenage detective club (and their dog) must reunite as broken adults to finally solve the terrifying case that ruined them all and sent the wrong man to prison. Scooby Doo and the gang never had to do this!

1990. The teen detectives once known as the Blyton Summer Detective Club (of Blyton Hills, a small mining town in the Zoinx River Valley in Oregon) are all grown up and haven't seen each other since their fateful, final case in 1977. Andy, the tomboy, is twenty-five and on the run, wanted in at least two states. Kerri, one-time kid genius and budding biologist, is bartending in New York, working on a serious drinking problem. At least she's got Tim, an excitable Weimaraner descended from the original canine member of the team. Nate, the horror nerd, has spent the last thirteen years in and out of mental health institutions, and currently resides in an asylum in Arhkam, Massachusetts. The only friend he still sees is Peter, the handsome jock turned movie star. The problem is, Peter's been dead for years.

The time has come to uncover the source of their nightmares and return to where it all began in 1977. This time, it better not be a man in a mask. The real monsters are waiting.

With raucous humor and brilliantly orchestrated mayhem, Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids taps into our shared nostalgia for the books and cartoons we grew up with, and delivers an exuberant, eclectic, and highly entertaining celebration of horror, life, friendship, and many-tentacled, interdimensional demon spawn.



Title : Meddling Kids
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0385541996
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 336 pages


Reviews


karen rated it ★★★★☆

November 11, 2017

oooh, goodreads choice awards semifinalist for best horror! what will happen? ”It was a guy in a costume, Nate. Same as always.” but what if, one time, it wasn’t? this book is a pure romp, but in order to enjoy it, you need to be willing to get on board with cantero’s style and authorial choices, wh...


Morgannah rated it ★★★★★

October 31, 2017

PLEASE VOTE - BEST HORROR 2017!!! What appears to be an action packed somewhat silly story about a grown up Scooby Gang is actually an intelligent piece of satire filled with brilliance and acute observations about coming of age and facing your fears and reality. At just over 330 pages there is no...


Alejandro rated it ★★★★☆

August 02, 2017

Excellent choice for Scooby-Doo’s fans! TRACKING THE TEEN DETECTIVES GENRE The teen detectives’ genre has been quite popular, and we can remember pioneers, in the 1930s, in the field like The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, and the genre exploded at the 1970s with the masses when Hanna-Barbera intro...


Char rated it ★★☆☆☆

July 09, 2017

2.5/5 Very rarely do I rate books I don't finish, but in this case, having read 61%, I feel as if I've read enough to merit an opinion. My opinion is this book isn't for me. I absolutely loved the premise-sort of a Scooby Doo/Cthulhu mash up-I mean, what could be more perfect for me? However, what...


Sadie rated it ★★☆☆☆

June 24, 2017

Oh....this book. It took me awhile to formulate what I really wanted to say about this book while also trying to maintain a constructive attitude about it. It's not my job as a reader to totally dismantle another person's hard work, so I won't let this digress. The premise (and the cover) and the...


Bam rated it ★★★★★

August 02, 2017

*4.5 stars! What a romp! Think a grown-up Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys adventure that has channeled some of Lovecraft's Cthulhu monster madness and added a dash of witchcraft, humor and romance. Sounds crazy? It is! Crazy fun! In 1977, in the small mining town of Blyton Hills, Oregon, four kids form The...


Paul rated it ★★★★★

August 02, 2017

as i crossed the 65% threshold or so i tried to read this with a critical eye. i tried to come up with some justification to rate it closer to 4 stars than 5. i couldnt. i loved this title so much, it was such an easy and fun read. which isnt to say it was fluff, because it wasnt. me. canterro wr...


Fafa's Book Corner rated it ★☆☆☆☆

August 22, 2017

Review to come.


Evie rated it ★★★★★

June 03, 2017

Whoa! This was intensely fun and entertaining! Probably the coolest book I've read this year. Fans of H.P.Lovecraft and Scooby Doo will devour this. Think Meddling Kids only much darker and more twisted, with a truly gripping, edge-of-your-seat storyline. 5 shining stars from me!


Niki rated it ★★★☆☆

November 12, 2017

It's all been done before. Eh. I wish I could give this book more than 3 stars. Truth is, there isn't one big thing that I disliked about this book that lowered my rating. It's more like there was lots of little things that kept piling up. The references, for one. "Zoinx River" is the one that put t...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.