Sting-Ray Afternoons: A Memoir by Steve Rushin

Into the Wild

Read Sting-Ray Afternoons: A Memoir Online Free - A wild and bittersweet memoir of a classic '70s childhood

It's a story of the 1970s. Of a road trip in a wood-paneled station wagon, with the kids in the way-back, singing along to the Steve Miller Band. Brothers waking up early on Saturday mornings for five consecutive hours of cartoons and advertising jingles that they'll be humming all day. A father-one of 3M's greatest and last eight-track-salesman fathers-traveling across the country on the brand-new Boeing 747, providing for his family but wanting nothing more than to get home.

It's Steve Rushin's story: of growing up within a '70s landscape populated with Bic pens, Mr. Clean and Scrubbing Bubbles, lightsabers and those oh-so-coveted Schwinn Sting-Ray bikes. Sting-Ray Afternoons paints an utterly fond, psychedelically vibrant, laugh-out-loud-funny portrait of an exuberant decade. With sidesplitting commentary, Rushin creates a vivid picture of a decade of wild youth, cultural rebirth, and the meaning of parental, brotherly, sisterly, whole lotta love.



Title : Sting-Ray Afternoons: A Memoir
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0316392235
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 336 pages


Reviews


Sara rated it ★★★★☆

July 26, 2017

How could so many of us have the same childhood? Fun, fun book.


Nancy rated it ★★★★★

May 24, 2017

This book was great. Every single chapter reminded me of growing up with my three brothers. I loved all of the references to the items of the 60's, 70's and even the 80's. From the "8-track" to the "boom-box". This is a must read for anyone that grew up in that era. I am sending the book on to so...


Scott rated it ★★★★★

July 28, 2017

A perfect read for the summer, but also just a very entertaining Generation-X memoir. Like the Nine Mile Creek referenced by the author, the ambient 70's nostalgia flows steadily throughout his various anecdotes. Nicely detailed, occasionally bittersweet, and often funny - highly recommended if y...


Donna rated it ★★★★★

July 11, 2017

What a fantastic ride down memory lane! This book spoke to me on many different levels, as I am seven years older than the author. I laughed out loud and at times cried. This book brought back my youth for a couple of days. When a book makes you feel things and does a great job of bringing back y...


Charles rated it ★★★★☆

November 28, 2017

What a beautiful book you wrote, Steve Rushin. A few years younger, thousands of kilometers away, a childhood in a different country in fact, and I can still relate. My hat's off to you.


Walt rated it ★★★★☆

October 03, 2017

A very nostalgic trip through the 1960s, 70s, and even a bit of the 50s and 80s. Mr Rushin tosses out many product names, songs, toys, and a lot of behaviors from his childhood growing up in Minnesota. (So thorough are the names, I'm sure he looked up old catalogues and magazines.) If your life o...


Elizabeth rated it ★★★★★

October 04, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I took it with me on vacation, which was great. (It's the sort of book you CAN put down and come back to later, which is what I needed.) Although I was a girl in the deep South, born 10 years before the author, there was SO much that related so well to my childhood...


Sarah rated it ★★★★☆

September 20, 2017

In the tradition of Bill Bryson's The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid and Jean Shepherd's In God We Trust, Sports Illustrated journalist Steve Rushin takes on the 1970's. This is memoir writing at its finest, a collision of pop culture, history, and family life from Rushin's formative years...


Mike rated it ★★★★★

November 05, 2017

Who knew a 2-page history of the BiC pen could be so good? Ostensibly Sting-Ray Afternoons is a memoir by Steve Rushin, who made his fame writing for Sports Illustrated. But a Rushin memoir is about the time he grew up -- the 1970s and all the things people growing up in the 1970s grow up with. We...


Caren rated it ★★★★☆

September 01, 2017

While the author, born in 1966, is technically a Generation X kid, his experience is near enough to my own Boomer childhood to strike a note of nostalgia. If you were young in the 1970s, you will love this book. Mr. Rushin was one of five kids (1 girl and 4 boys, or , as he fondly recalls, "one r...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.