The Lost Letter by Jillian Cantor

Into the Wild

Read The Lost Letter Online Free - A heart-breaking, heart-warming historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. For readers of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Austria, 1938.
Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989.
Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A beautiful, poignant and devastating novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.



Title : The Lost Letter
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0399185674
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 322 pages


Reviews


Jennifer rated it ★★★★★

June 21, 2017

I have goosebumps right now! Hands down "The Lost Letter" is my favorite book of 2017 and I'm not a big fan of historical fiction! If I could give this novel 10 stars I would! "The Lost Letter" has all the feels, beautiful writing, and a fantastic story! There are two storylines in this novel. Par...


Angela M rated it ★★★★☆

June 22, 2017

A letter written in 1939 is found 50 years later and it was definitely worth waiting until the end of this story to learn its content. Katie Nelson's father is in a nursing home and is losing his memory. He has collected stamps as long as she can remember, always telling her about the gem that co...


Diane S ☔ rated it ★★★★☆

June 01, 2017

Her father had been an avid stamp collector his entire life, Katie fondly remembers going with him to resale shops and garage sales, as he searched for unusual stamps. Now in a memory care unit, regressing to the past, Katie takes his collection to an appraiser to see if there are any hidden gems...


Suzanne rated it ★★★★☆

June 18, 2017

Kate Nelson grew up with a father who was an avid stamp collector. He is currently in a nursing home, and Kate decides to take his large collection to be appraised. During the review an unusual Austrian World War II stamp on a sealed letter is discovered. Kate, along with the appraiser, investiga...


Jennifer rated it ★★★★★

June 12, 2017

Author Jillian Cantor truly knows how to draw a reader in...I could not put down this beautifully written book!  At the end of every chapter my heart was pounding in anticipation.  The Lost Letter is two compelling stories artfully woven together and destined to intertwine at the end.  The first...


☘ Book of Secrets ☘ rated it ★★★★★

July 05, 2017

4.5 Stars → Three words: beautiful, moving, and bittersweet. This book is a unique tale of the Austrian Resistance during World War II, centering around the love story between the daughter of a Jewish stamp maker and his apprentice. THE LOST LETTER is really historical fiction within historical f...


Cindy rated it ★★★★★

March 31, 2017

The Lost Letter is one of the best books that I have read this year. Jillian Cantor writes an intriguing and fascinating tale of Austrian resistance to the Nazis highlighting the innovative ways resistance workers used to evacuate Jews from Austria. I collected stamps as a child so the storyline...


Cheri rated it ★★★★☆

September 22, 2017

”And you, of tender years, Can't know the fears that your elders grew by, And so please help them with your youth, They seek the truth before they can die.” --- “Teach Your Children” – lyrics by Graham Nash Katie Nelson, living in L.A., is on the verge of divorce, although she hasn’t shared that inf...


Dianne rated it ★★★★☆

August 27, 2017

Historical fiction "lite" along the lines of "The Nightingale." If you liked that, you will definitely want to read this. I read it in one day and it kept me engrossed. A good Sunday lazy day read.


Gemma rated it ★★★☆☆

July 17, 2017

This is a good and moving story, a light read despite its WW2 backdrop. Everything in the narrative focuses on one central mystery, an unopened letter with a striking stamp. However I had some problems with how it’s told, mostly the very ordinary nature of the prose. I think this is largely a que...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.