The Vanishing Box (Stephens & Mephisto Mystery, #4) by Elly Griffiths

Into the Wild

Read The Vanishing Box (Stephens & Mephisto Mystery, #4) Online Free - The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. 'Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie' Sunday Express (on Smoke and Mirrors)

What do a murdered Brighton flowerseller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? One thing's for sure - it could be the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter Ruby are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'. This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' current case of the death of a quiet flowerseller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that, in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred...



Title : The Vanishing Box (Stephens & Mephisto Mystery, #4)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1784297003
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* rated it ★★★★☆

November 08, 2017

EXCERPT: Detective Inspector Edgar Stephens was looking at a dead body. He had seen death before, of course, in the war as well as in his police work but there was something about this corpse that made it especially disturbing. It wasn't just the stench that sent his Sargeant, Bob Willis, retchin...


Paromjit rated it ★★★★☆

September 26, 2017

I really love this period crime series from Elly Griffiths featuring magician Max Mephisto and DI Edgar Stephens, close friends after serving as The Magic Men during the war. This is the fourth in the series, set in 1953. Max and his daughter, Ruby, are headlining at the Brighton Hippodrome in a...


Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede rated it ★★★☆☆

November 02, 2017

I started to read Elly Griffith's Ruth Galloway series several years ago and I quite liked reading about an archaeologist involved in murder cases. So, when the first book in the Stephens & Mephisto Mystery was released was I curious to see how this series, set in the 50s would be. And, there...


Leah rated it ★★★★☆

November 09, 2017

Staging a murder... It's a cold and snowy December in the Brighton of 1953, and magician Max Mephisto has top billing in the variety show at the Hippodrome, along with his new stage partner, his daughter Ruby. Ruby's fiancé, DI Edgar Stephens, has to put his plans to see the show on hold when a gi...


Richard rated it ★★★★☆

November 03, 2017

Happy Publication Day Elly Griffiths. The Vanishing Box, the fourth novel set in post 2nd world war Brighton, has been released upon the nation. Set just before Christmas 1953 the author has produced another crime thriller against the lucious background of musical hall and variety theatre. Despite...


Kate rated it ★★★★★

November 04, 2017

Why have I never read this series before?! I adored this. A review: https://forwinternights.wordpress.com...


Elaine rated it ★★★★☆

October 23, 2017

I would like to thank Netgalley and Quercus Books for an advance copy of The Vanishing Box, the fourth novel in the Stephens and Mephisto series of detective novels set in 1950s Brighton. It's Decmber 1953 when DI Edgar Stephens and his team are called out to a murder. Lily Burtenshaw has been fou...


Manchester Military History Society (MMHS) rated it ★★★★☆

November 10, 2017

Another excellent, impeccably researched and atmospheric crime thriller from Elly Griffiths This is the fourth outing of the “Magic Men” and it's great to be back with the rich cast of characters. Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter Ruby are headlining Brighton Hippodrome as a murder take...


Joanne rated it ★★★★★

November 22, 2017

The latest book in Elly Griffiths' Stephens and Mephisto series, The Vanishing Box might actually be my favourite of the four. It combines a gripping and really rather dark murder mystery with a strong sense of period atmosphere and immensely likeable characters in whom, after four books, I now f...


J rated it ★★★★☆

November 03, 2017

Set in 1953 in Brighton it is approaching Christmas – the lights and decorations are going up and the snow is falling. Max Mephisto and his daughter Ruby are starring at the Hippodrome. Ruby is engaged to DI Edgar Stephens. Edgar is looking forward to seeing the show when a call comes through – a...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.