The Night Garden by Polly Horvath

Into the Wild

Read The Night Garden Online Free - It is World War II, and Franny and her parents, Sina and Old Tom, enjoy a quiet life on a farm on Vancouver Island. Franny writes, Sina sculpts, and Old Tom tends to their many gardens--including the ancient, mysterious night garden. Their peaceful life is interrupted when their neighbor, Crying Alice, begs Sina to watch her children while she goes to visit her husband at the military base because she suspects he's up to no good. Soon after the children move in, letters arrive from their father that suggest he's about to do something to change their lives; and appearances from a stubborn young cook, UFOs, hermits, and ghosts only make life stranger. Can the forbidden night garden that supposedly grants everyone one wish help them all out of trouble? And if so, at what cost?



Title : The Night Garden
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0374304521
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


brooklynnnne rated it ★★★★★

September 19, 2017

This was the first Polly Horvath novel that I have read but it most certainly will not be my last! What an incredible, funny, quirky, and enjoyable read. The story was unique, mysterious, and entertaining. From the beginning, I didn't know where it was going to go or what was coming next. The myst...


Melora rated it ★★☆☆☆

October 06, 2017

Not awful, but not as enjoyable as some of Horvath's previous books. The implausible dialogue is amusing for a while, but soon the arch, precocious narrator's oh-so-clever conversation becomes wearing. There are some sympathetic characters, but the Madden family, who provide the main action are m...


Laurie • The Baking Bookworm rated it ★★★☆☆

October 09, 2017

This is a strange and funny tale with quirky characters. Going into it I had expected a Gothic Middle-School mystery with a hint of paranormal but got something quite different. Let's put it this way, if Anne of Green Gables, The Secret Garden and Lemony Snicket were mixed together out would pop...


Munro's rated it ★★★★☆

September 15, 2017

I LOVE some Poly Horvath books. Everything on a Waffle qualifies as one of my favourite children's books. Ever. Trolls was such a strange blend of whimsy fun and darkness that it also left a strong impression with me. Mr. and Mrs. Bunny delighted me to no end - oh, those crazy stupid bunnies with...


Josie rated it ★★☆☆☆

September 10, 2017

Set in a rural area in 1945 our orphan Fanny together with her guardians must learn to cope with caring for a neighbour's children as their mother goes to stop her husband from doing something terrible. We follow their adventures and the mysterious Night Garden which they are forbidden to enter. T...


Lauren rated it ★★★★☆

July 15, 2017

A fun and fast read for those who enjoy mystery, unusual characters, and a touch of the supernatural. Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events, Serafina and the Black Cloak, and Greenglass House.


Martha rated it ★★★★☆

October 05, 2017

Franny, 12, and her parents, Sina and Old Tom, live a peaceful life on a farm on Vancouver Island during WW2. Their troubles revolve around the creative process (Sina is a sculptor and Franny writes.) and the seasonal work of the farm -- until Crying Alice, their neighbor, arrives with an unusual...


Jen Kayna rated it ★★★☆☆

September 27, 2017

I would describe this book as a "silly strange story". It's one of those stories that purposely has over-the-top characters (like Crying Alice, a woman who cries all the time. Or like Gladys, who is hired as a cook but constantly burns the food yet never gets fired). The Night Garden is aimed at...


Laura rated it ★★★☆☆

October 15, 2017

Magical realism is not always my favorite genre, but I liked the way Horvath merged the magic and the real in this one. The setting is unusual (Vancouver Island during WW2) and the characters are quirky in the classic Horvath manner. The ending felt a little rushed and frantic - the pace was fair...


Sarah rated it ★★★☆☆

October 16, 2017

I received a free copy of The Night Garden through LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review — thank you! What a compelling, darkly-funny little book, filled with rich and over-the-top characters. I have been seeing a lot of comparisons to Lemony Snicket, which I completely get — with the adde...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.