The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution by Yuri Slezkine

Into the Wild

Read The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution Online Free - The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.



Title : The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0691176949
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 1096 pages


Reviews


Hadrian rated it ★★★★☆

October 08, 2017

This titanic volume contains the topics and organization of several books. One is a social history of the residents of a single apartment building - the House of Government, on Balchug Island in the Moskva River. This building was one of the prides of the early Soviet Union, replete with all of t...


Lori rated it ★★★★★

July 17, 2017

Absolutely stunning. I thought this book was about an apartment building constructed for high Soviet officials (The House of Government), the people who lived there, and their fates during the purges of the 1930's and 40's. But it is so much more than that. This book is not for the faint hearted,...


Biblio rated it ★★★★★

September 04, 2017

Originally, I sampled this one from Netgalley, then gave in and pre-ordered it. The beautiful book now rests on my Russian Lit bookshelf. I still haven't officially reviewed it simply because it's a tome that deserves a slow reading. The beginning pages were simply exquisite, the details are profo...


Marks54 rated it ★★★★★

September 16, 2017

This is a great book that will I am sure come to be seen as a classic. Words like "epic" are thrown around too easily sometimes but are appropriate here. We are rapidly approaching the 100 year anniversary of the October Revolution and this is a fine book to read about it. Yuri Slezkine has writt...


Beata rated it ★★★★★

September 30, 2017

Absolutely stunning piece of non-fiction that is hard to find nowadays. Found it by pure chance and now I believe it to be one of the best books on the revolution. A real jewel! The book is truly terrifying; it describes the lives the revolutionaries, those famous and less known, led well before...


Barry rated it ★★★★★

September 07, 2017

A very interesting book that is a group biography of the top personnel of the Communist in Moscow during the years of NEP and Stalin. The evolution and interrelationships of this group are fascinating. The book not an easy read. 1100 pages, small print, and it must weigh 20 pounds, so you are exe...


Mandy rated it ★★★★★

October 24, 2017

A few years after the 1917 Revolution it was decided to build a House of Government on a muddy island in the Moscow River to house the Soviet Bolshevik elite. Designed on an enormous scale, the vast complex contained apartments, courtyards, a theatre, library, gym, hair salon, post office, cinema...


François rated it ★★★★★

October 01, 2017

Stunning book, that every reader interested by Soviet history will love to read. It is densely populated by so many characters of the Russian Revolution and their personal histories, from the beginning of their political awakening at adolescence, through the revolutionary wars, the Second World W...


Bob rated it ★★★★☆

September 28, 2017

sprawling and intimate. the world of revolutionary russia writ both large and quotidian.


John Plowright rated it ★★★★★

August 04, 2017

Some of the most high-profile victims of Stalin’s purges, namely, those who as privileged party members, were accommodated in the House of Government - the huge, forbidding apartment block opened in 1931, on the Moscow River’s embankment - were able, once Khrushchev sanctioned de-Stalinization, t...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.