The Boat Runner by Devin Murphy

Into the Wild

Read The Boat Runner Online Free - A DUTCH SEAFARER, TURNED SMUGGLER.

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys’ father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob’s world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life—and his life’s mission—forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy’s harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people’s stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails. 



Title : The Boat Runner
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0062658018
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 400 pages


Reviews


Angela M rated it ★★★★★

August 27, 2017

So many books tell of the magnitude of WWII - taking so many lives, impacting so many people, the Holocaust, the death, losses of loved ones and homes . This is the story of one town in Holland, the story of one family, representative of so many families in occupied countries and how their lives...


Diane S ☔ rated it ★★★★☆

September 16, 2017

A fantastic debut novel. It is 1939, Jacob is 14 years old, his father owns and runs a light manufacturing plant in their Dutch town. He looks up to his brother Edwin, and adores his mother, respects his father, who has made a very decent living for this small family. This begins to change with t...


Brenda rated it ★★★★☆

December 09, 2017

3.5 Stars Traveling Sisters Review by Brenda with Lindsay, Susanne and Jennifer I read The Boat Runner with three of my Traveling Sisters and we were split into different coulees with this one. Some of spilt in the all my heart and emotion Lush Coulee and the rest of us were lost in the overwhelm...


Susanne rated it ★★★☆☆

December 05, 2017

3 Stars It’s 1939 and Holland has been invaded by the Nazi’s. Everything changes in an instant for the Koopman family and their once seemingly idyllic life is torn apart. When Jacob Koopman and his family think things can’t get worse, they inevitably do. From Nazi occupied Holland, to the Brit’s...


Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader rated it ★★★★★

December 07, 2017

5 original and emotionally tender stars to The Boat Runner I read quite a bit of World War II fiction; so much in fact, I have to make myself read other books in between at times. What I have read runs the gamut with different locations, perspectives, and characters. The Boat Runner offered someth...


Katie rated it ★★★☆☆

November 21, 2017

A coming of age story about a Dutch boy in WW2 who narrates his own story. This began well and I enjoyed the first half. The problems began when the war began and the writing took on a histrionic tone and the drama a forced artificial feel. The narrator really began irritating me with his immatur...


Dorie rated it ★★★★☆

September 05, 2017

I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher and Edelweiss. This was one really good debut novel! Reading it, feeling it pull me in, experience some beautiful prose “the sun dropped to the water and disappeared below it. It made all the sailing boats look like lean, long-necked birds paddlin...


Lindsay rated it ★★★★☆

December 10, 2017

4.5 stars! This was a gripping, heart wrenching and heart pounding WWII story. I am emotionally exhausted after finishing this book. This novel follows Jacob, a 14 year-old Dutch boy who lives through countless wartime atrocities. He is forced to make major life decisions with a conflicted heart...


Jenni rated it ★★★★★

June 11, 2017

This book is not for the faint of heart. But that's what I liked about it. Murphy has a wonderfully clear, direct, stark writing style that is also descriptive, vivid, and raw. I found it very interesting to see WWII through the eyes of a teenage Dutch boy as he grapples with loss, love, right/wr...


Caryn rated it ★★★★★

September 05, 2017

This is a book I will not soon forget. A read perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, City of Thieves, and The Nightingale. Full review and giveaway on my blog: http://www.thebookwhisperer.org/2017/...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.