The Room of White Fire by T. Jefferson Parker

Into the Wild

Read The Room of White Fire Online Free - For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, a stirring thriller from New York Times bestseller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker: The Room of White Fire is the tale of a private investigator tasked with hunting down a returned soldier broken and made dangerous by his experiences at war.

A young soldier shattered by war, on the run from a mental institute. A P.I. carrying his own vicious wounds hired to track that soldier down. A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him.

Roland Ford once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate air force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows the weight of war, having served as a marine in First Fallujah; he also knows the nightmare of indescribable personal pain, as only two years have passed since his young wife's sudden death. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved.

To begin with, there's the teenage girl who helped Clay escape: she's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed and dangerous man. Then there's Clay's attractive doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's the proprietor of the mental institute who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless; what could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate?

Soon, what began as just a job becomes a life-and-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.



Title : The Room of White Fire
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0735212686
Edition Language : English
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 352 pages


Reviews


Cheryl rated it ★★★★☆

June 16, 2017

"It got my monster up. That's for sure." Roland Ford is a widower, a private investigator, ex-cop and Marine veteran. He is hired by the owner of an exclusive (NOTE: expensive) mental facility to track down an escaped patient. It doesn't take long for Ford to figure out that he hasn't been told the...


Cheryl rated it ★★★☆☆

July 28, 2017

Private investigator Roland Ford, a former Marine and police officer, has been hired to help locate a young man, Clay Hickman, who served in the Air Force in Afghanistan. After his discharge, Hickman began showing signs of PTSD, and his family placed him in a private sanitorium from which he esca...


Valerie rated it ★★★★☆

September 14, 2017

This was a very difficult book for me to read due to the subject matter. It is very well written and is an action packed novel, having to do with our country's 'war on terror.' Private investigator Roland Ford, once a cop and then a Marine, is hired by the Arcadia mental institution near San Dieg...


Ed rated it ★★★☆☆

August 27, 2017

Marine Veteran Roland Ford is a PI who specializes in finding people who don't want to be found. He takes an assignment to find Clay Hickman, a young Air Force veteran with PTSD issues who escaped from a plush mental hospital in Southern California. Roland soon discovers how, why and who helped C...


Chloe rated it ★★★★★

August 17, 2017

Do we, as the Greatest Country on Earth, use torture ? We condemn it loudly and we point fingers at others for doing it. Are those messages telling everyone WE would never sink so low? I think that's what they're meant to do. So when a novelist does take on the subject - we are supposed to assume...


Michael rated it ★★★☆☆

September 05, 2017

I did not particularly like this novel, but that was my individual tate. It was well written and I had to finsh itto see what happened at the end. But it was a psychological novel and very dark.


Harry rated it ★★★★★

September 10, 2017

Brilliant start to a new series. A simple private detective story featuring a complex character. I've been a fan of Parker's work for a long time, especially LA OUTLAWS, the first Charlie Hood book. This is every bit as good as OUTLAWS. A must-read if you're a fan of gritty crime thrillers.


Diana rated it ★★★★★

August 28, 2017

This was a tough one to read in certain parts, but absolutely necessary for the story & as an American. Mr. Parker takes a very real horror story perpetrated by US Forces & turns it into a fictionalized account. Very powerful & well-written. I highly recommend this book.


Cheryl rated it ★★☆☆☆

August 16, 2017

I was intrigued to start reading this book after reading the summary. It started out fine. Roland is fine as a main lead. Yet, my issues with this book became apparent early on in the story. The story was long and drawn out into why Clay was running. It did not help that I didn't find most of the...


Kathleen rated it ★★★★☆

July 26, 2017

I've gone back and forth on Parker over the years- some of the novels are good while others lose me midstream. This is a topical thriller with a good new character in Roland. This isn't as action packed as you might like and there's a sort of slow boil as Roland looks for Clay. The secrets and li...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.