Tru & Nelle: A Christmas Tale (Tru & Nelle, #2) by G. Neri

Into the Wild

Read Tru & Nelle: A Christmas Tale (Tru & Nelle, #2) Online Free - When they were younger, Tru and Nelle were best friends, sharing adventures and solving mysteries in Monroeville, Alabama. But then Tru moved to New York City to live his mother and their friendship slowly faded away. Life in the big city wasn't as fun as Tru had hoped it would be. In fact, he ran away, and now he's back and hoping he and Nelle can be friends again.

Unfortunately, thing's aren't so great in Munroeville, either. Maybe he should have run away to somewhere else.

But Christmas is just around the corner, and there's nothing like the holidays to bring everyone back together.

Based on true events, Tru & Nelle: A Christmas Tale is the continuing story of one of the greatest literary friendships of the 20th century.

“This sequel stands on its own. The writing is gorgeous—not one false stroke. Neri's uneasy peer into a piece of Americana squeezes dribs of hope from precious blood. Totally brilliant. Totally one to watch for in 2017. Bravo!” - Rita Williams-Garcia, 3-time Coretta Scott King Award-Winner and Newbery honoree for One Crazy Summer

Title : Tru & Nelle: A Christmas Tale (Tru & Nelle, #2)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1328685985
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Cynthia rated it ★★★★☆

October 22, 2017

Initially I was drawn to this book because the main characters were Harper Lee and Truman Capote even though I don’t read much children’s lit but that’s not what kept me reading. In the tradition of Capote and Lee Neri tackles some weighty issue about diversity. Neri is skilled at meeting his mid...

Jessica rated it ★★★★★

November 24, 2017

Oh boy, I could not wait to get my hands on this book!!! Tru & Nelle: A Christmas Tale picks up four years later with Tru running away from his New York Military School, back home to Alabama. He missed his family. He missed Big Boy. But really he missed Nelle. Obviously, that's who he decides...

Sarah rated it ★★★★☆

December 21, 2017

As someone who would name To Kill a Mockingbird as her favorite book of all time, I am willing to read just about anything about Nelle Harper Lee. This second installment in G. Neri's series for school age kids about the friendship between Nelle and Truman Capote as young children is, in my extre...

Carol rated it ★★★★★

December 28, 2017

Please see my review on Amazon. com under C. Wong. Thank you!

Erin rated it ★★★★☆

January 04, 2018

So lovely. A perfect Christmas read that has inpired me to know more about Nelle Harper Lee and Truman Capote. I never knew To Kill A Mockingbird may not have been written had it not been for a very special Christmas gift!

Melissa rated it ★★★★☆

December 23, 2017

Harper “Nell” Lee and Truman Capote were best friends growing up next door to each other in Monroeville, AL. In December 1935, Tru decides he has had enough of his military school in upstate New York. He runs away a few days before Christmas and takes the train to Sook’s home in Monroeville, AL....

Jana rated it ★★★★☆

November 09, 2017

I had the opportunity to read a digital ARC of this middle grade historical fiction novel from NetGalley in exchange for this review. This book is a follow-up to Neri’s 2016 novel, Tru & Nelle. It continues the fictionalized account of Truman Capote’s and Harper Lee’s friendship during their...

Becky rated it ★★★★★

November 10, 2017

First sentence: "Do you think he'll be any taller?" asked Big Boy. Premise/plot: This is the second book fictionalizing the friendship of Harper Lee and Truman Capote. This one focuses specifically on Christmas--three Christmases to be exact. The first Christmas, readers see a custody battle over...

Cindy rated it ★★★★★

December 13, 2017

Truman Capote and Nelle Harper Lee are well known writers, yet young readers may not know that the two met when they were children in the town of Monroeville, Alabama. Their friendship continued even though Capote often lived elsewhere, and as adults they helped each other with their writing. Aut...

Liz rated it ★★★★★

January 12, 2018

This book was so lovely I didn't want it to end. Very much in the style of To Kill a Mockingbird, Neri tells a story based on real events in the young lives of real people Truman Capote and Harper Lee, childhood friends and neighbors. In a no-holds-barred exposition of daily life and racism in th...

Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.