Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon by Henry Marsh

Into the Wild

Read Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon Online Free - Following the publication of Do No Harm, Dr. Henry Marsh retired from his position at a hospital in London. But his career continued, taking him to remote hospitals in places such as Nepal and Pakistan, where he offers his services as surgeon and teacher to those in need. Now, Marsh considers the challenges of working in those difficult conditions, alongside the challenges of putting a career of fifty years behind you and finding further purpose in life and work.

In Admissions, Marsh offers a thoughtful, perceptive consideration of medicine and the pursuit of a meaningful life that will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande, Jerome Groopman, and Oliver Sacks.



Title : Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1250127262
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 288 pages


Reviews


Caroline rated it ★★★★☆

August 16, 2017

I love autobiographies. Sometimes one identifies strongly with the writer, and the reading process feels quite seamless. Then there are other writers whose experiences of life and the world are very different to yours. This makes for a bumpy ride, with little identification, but these books are o...


Rebecca rated it ★★★★☆

May 23, 2017

Brain surgeon Henry Marsh’s first book, Do No Harm, was one of my favorite reads of 2015. Admissions serves as a sort of sequel, recording Marsh’s last few weeks at his London hospital and the projects that have driven him during his first years of retirement: woodworking, renovating a derelict l...


Bettie☯ rated it ★★★☆☆

May 20, 2017

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08q3xnv Description: Nearing the end of his career, neurosurgeon Henry Marsh reflects on a life in surgery. Marsh read Politics, Philosophy and Economics at Oxford University before studying medicine at the Royal Free Hospital in London, graduating in 1979. He becam...


Canadian rated it ★★★★☆

May 23, 2017

It's been some time since I read Henry Marsh's wonderful and compelling memoir of his life in neurosurgery, Do No Harm. I had hoped to re-read it prior to starting his new one, Admissions, but I didn't manage it. I'd ordered the book from Britain-- as it won't appear in Canada until the fall of 2...


Stewart rated it ★★★★☆

August 16, 2017

I won an ARC of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. It's apparently due to be published in October of 2017. A bookmark that came with it urges me to include #stmartinspress in my review, so consider it done. Yet another book where the title sums it up more succinctly than I ever could. Henry Marsh...


Lindsay rated it ★★★☆☆

March 12, 2017

Should definitely be read as more of a biography than as a continuation of his first book, Do No Harm. I found the stories of various operations both in the UK and Ukraine really interesting, but found myself skipping over life in Nepal and the renovations to the house he decided to make-over.


Karan rated it ★★★☆☆

May 29, 2017

Two and a half years back, I remember being left a little bewildered by the celebrated first book by ace surgeon Marsh which came packaged as a slice of life memoir-of-sorts which, to my consternation back then, alternated unannounced between his frustration with the current management styles in...


Jo rated it ★★★☆☆

September 04, 2017

The second part of Marsh's memoirs about life as a neurosurgeon. Here he talks about the end of his career and life after retirement. He discusses his work helping the people of Nepal and Ukraine as well as some of the cases he dealt with in the UK. Marsh has led an interesting life and this book...


Julie rated it ★★★★★

April 18, 2017

Wow! A FASCINATING memoir. This was definitely my kind of book-I love medical memoirs. It was engaging and fascinating from the outset. Enormously interesting. Honest, revealing, often eye-opening. As well as the author’s work in the UK, it also tells of his teaching and operating in Nepal, The Uk...


Shirley rated it ★★★★☆

April 30, 2017

Henry Marsh What a wonderful book. I really enjoyed reading Admissions. A life in brain surgery by Henry Marsh. Really interesting to read about his life working in London,Nepal and the Ukraine easing the pain and suffering of so many. I felt very humbled by the memoirs of this man. This book is certa...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.