Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon by Henry Marsh

Into the Wild

Read Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon Online Free - Following the publication of Do No Harm, Dr. Henry Marsh retired from his position at a hospital in London. But his career continued, taking him to remote hospitals in places such as Nepal and Pakistan, where he offers his services as surgeon and teacher to those in need. Now, Marsh considers the challenges of working in those difficult conditions, alongside the challenges of putting a career of fifty years behind you and finding further purpose in life and work.

In Admissions, Marsh offers a thoughtful, perceptive consideration of medicine and the pursuit of a meaningful life that will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande, Jerome Groopman, and Oliver Sacks.



Title : Admissions: Life as a Brain Surgeon
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1250127262
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 288 pages


Reviews


Caroline rated it ★★★★☆

August 16, 2017

I love autobiographies. Sometimes one identifies strongly with the writer, and the reading process feels quite seamless. Then there are other writers whose experiences of life and the world are very different to yours. This makes for a bumpy ride, with little identification, but these books are o...


Rebecca rated it ★★★★☆

May 23, 2017

Brain surgeon Henry Marsh’s first book, Do No Harm, was one of my favorite reads of 2015. Admissions serves as a sort of sequel, recording Marsh’s last few weeks at his London hospital and the projects that have driven him during his first years of retirement: woodworking, renovating a derelict l...


Bettie☯ rated it ★★★☆☆

May 20, 2017

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08q3xnv Description: Nearing the end of his career, neurosurgeon Henry Marsh reflects on a life in surgery. Marsh read Politics, Philosophy and Economics at Oxford University before studying medicine at the Royal Free Hospital in London, graduating in 1979. He becam...


Canadian rated it ★★★★☆

May 23, 2017

It's been some time since I read Henry Marsh's wonderful and compelling memoir of his life in neurosurgery, Do No Harm. I had hoped to re-read it prior to starting his new one, Admissions, but I didn't manage it. I'd ordered the book from Britain-- as it won't appear in Canada until the fall of 2...


Inna rated it ★★★★★

October 27, 2017

Нашій медицині не вистачає генрі маршів. Нашій політиці. Нашій сфері послуг. Сфері продажів. Благодійності Військовій сфері. І просто нам. Нам не вистачає Генрі Марша в нас. Адже,як зазначено в післямові, правда – релігія Генрі Марша. А вміння визнавати власні помилки – одна з найменш притаманних нашому...


Stewart rated it ★★★★☆

August 16, 2017

I won an ARC of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. It's apparently due to be published in October of 2017. A bookmark that came with it urges me to include #stmartinspress in my review, so consider it done. Yet another book where the title sums it up more succinctly than I ever could. Henry Marsh...


Lindsay rated it ★★★☆☆

March 12, 2017

Should definitely be read as more of a biography than as a continuation of his first book, Do No Harm. I found the stories of various operations both in the UK and Ukraine really interesting, but found myself skipping over life in Nepal and the renovations to the house he decided to make-over.


Marysya rated it ★★★★★

November 29, 2017

Я захоплююсь Генрі Маршем! Абсолютно щира, до болю чесна, але в той же час тепла, світла і неймовірно людяна книга надзвичайного Лікаря.


Karan rated it ★★★☆☆

May 29, 2017

Two and a half years back, I remember being left a little bewildered by the celebrated first book by ace surgeon Marsh which came packaged as a slice of life memoir-of-sorts which, to my consternation back then, alternated unannounced between his frustration with the current management styles in...


Mje102 rated it ★★★★★

December 01, 2017

In this book, the author recounts his experiences in working - and then retiring - as a neurosurgeon from the National Health Service, then working in Nepal and in the Ukraine, helping to train neurosurgeons. Marsh is an extraordinary writer - richly describing the practice of neurosurgery in bot...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.