Rise of the Jumbies (The Jumbies #2) by Tracey Baptiste

Into the Wild

Read Rise of the Jumbies (The Jumbies #2) Online Free - Corinne LaMer defeated the wicked jumbie Severine months ago, but things haven’t exactly gone back to normal in her Caribbean island home. Everyone knows Corinne is half-jumbie, and many of her neighbors treat her with mistrust. When local children begin to go missing, snatched from the beach and vanishing into wells, suspicious eyes turn to Corinne.
 
To rescue the missing children and clear her own name, Corinne goes deep into the ocean to find Mama D’Leau, the dangerous jumbie who rules the sea. But Mama D’Leau’s help comes with a price. Corinne and her friends Dru, Bouki, and Malik must travel with mermaids across the ocean to the shores of Ghana to fetch a powerful object for Mama D’Leau. The only thing more perilous than Corinne’s adventures across the sea is the foe that waits for her back home.
 
With its action-packed storytelling, diverse characters, and inventive twists on Caribbean and West African mythology and fairy tales, Rise of the Jumbies will appeal to readers of A Snicker of Magic, Breadcrumbs, and Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.



Title : Rise of the Jumbies (The Jumbies #2)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1616206659
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 pages


Reviews


Emris rated it ★★★★★

July 06, 2017

I would be honest with you, I choose this book to see the quality of craftsmanship from my fellow country woman, and I am astounded, the quality of her writing is great and the intrigue in the story is just right. When I started reading I didn’t expect to be enthralled but I’m glad to say I am, t...


Cassie rated it ★★★★★

October 04, 2017

Perfect follow up adventure after the first Jumbies. Hoping for a third.


Shenwei rated it ★★★★★

June 15, 2017

I need a book 3😭😭😭


Donalyn rated it ★★★★★

May 17, 2017

Even better than the first book and Baptiste left the door open for more Jumbies' adventures!


Ms. rated it ★★★★☆

June 28, 2017

E ARC from Edelweiss Above the Treeline When there is an earthquake in Corine's small town, several children go missing, and because Corine is part jumbie, her neighbors suspect that she might be involved. To find the children, Corinne risks her own fate to meet with Mama D'Leau, who agrees to hel...


Hannah rated it ★★★★★

August 26, 2017

RISE OF THE JUMBIES is a thrilling, shimmering fairy tale that isn't afraid to go to dark places. There is magic and there are mermaids, and there is a frank look at the Atlantic slave trade and how it echoes into the present, and a thoughtful exploration of how we humans scorn what we don't unde...


Nikki rated it ★★★★★

May 24, 2017

Wow! Baptiste has done it again - this is a Caribbean fairy tale that young readers will fight over in the library. It's fast-paced, with the perfect amount of thrills and chills. Incredibly satisfying. Can't wait for the next!


Janet rated it ★★★★☆

October 16, 2017

OVERVIEW:  When local children from Corinne La Mer’s Caribbean island home begin to go missing, suspicious eyes turn to half-jumbie, Corinne. To rescue the missing children and clear her own name, Corinne goes deep into the ocean to meet Mama D’Leau, the dangerous jumbie who rules the waves. But...


Nicole rated it ★★★★★

October 17, 2017

Rise of the Jumbies an adventure fairy tale is a follow up to one the first book The Jumbies. Magic, mermaids and a brief history lesson all encompass this amazing book. This book is based on Caribbean folklore, while the first Haitian. I thoroughly enjoyed this plotline, and 15 pages in, pulled...


carrietracy rated it ★★★★★

August 15, 2017

This was an amazing follow up to The Jumbies. While The Jumbies read more like a fairy tale, Rise of the Jumbies reads more like an adventure. An adventure that is filled with mermaids, a sunken slave ship, a trip across the ocean to Ghana, and yes, plenty of Jumbies. I was amazed at how Baptiste...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.