Fata Morgana by Steven R. Boyett

Into the Wild

Read Fata Morgana Online Free - At the height of the air war in Europe, Captain Joe Farley and the baseball-loving, wisecracking crew of the B-17 Flying Fortress Fata Morgana are in the middle of a harrowing bombing mission over East Germany when everything goes sideways. The bombs are still falling and flak is still exploding all around the 20-ton bomber as it is knocked like a bathtub duck into another world.Suddenly stranded with the final outcasts of a desolated world, Captain Farley navigates a maze of treachery and wonder--and finds a love seemingly decreed by fate--as his bomber becomes a pawn in a centuries-old conflict between remnants of advanced but decaying civilizations. Caught among these bitter enemies, a vast power that has brought them here for its own purposes, and a terrifying living weapon bent on their destruction, the crew must use every bit of their formidable inventiveness and courage to survive.Fata Morgana--the epic novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time.



Title : Fata Morgana
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1504757440
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 0 pages


Reviews


Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ rated it ★★★★☆

September 04, 2017

99 cent Kindle sale, Sept. 4, 2017. 3.5 stars for this 2017 SF novel, kind of a throwback, reminiscent of Golden Age SciFi. Final review, first posted on Fantasy Literature: It’s 1943, at the height of the air war during World War II. US Air Force Captain Joseph Farley and his crew of nine men fly...


Arah-Lynda rated it ★★★☆☆

June 07, 2017

Fata Morgana:  A Fata Morgana is an unusual and complex form of superior mirage that is seen in the narrow band right above the horizon.  It is the Italian name for the Arthurian sorceress Morgan le Fay, from a belief that these mirages, often seen in the Strait of Messina, were fairy castles in...


Stacy rated it ★★★★★

March 08, 2017

Oh my gosh! This book was soooo good. It made me cry a few times, and others had me laughing out loud. I really must read more by this author. It was about a WWII bomber, the Fata Morganna, that went through a vortex into the future. He met a girl and fell in love. This crossed a few genres-- his...


Tammy rated it ★★★★☆

June 21, 2017

The nitty-gritty: An exciting time travel adventure that is, at its heart, a love letter to the B17 Flying Fortress bomber. It’s been six years since Steve Boyett published Mortality Bridge , and so I was thrilled to find out he had a new book coming out this year, co-authored by his good friend...


E.P. rated it ★★★★☆

December 21, 2016

A fascinating melange of WWII "aviation lit" (to coin a term) and hard sci-fi, with a side of metaphysics and fantasy, "Fata Morgana" is a unique book. It's not exactly something I would normally read, but I found it extremely interesting nonetheless. Somewhat to my surprise, since I was expecting...


Cathy rated it ★★★★★

May 29, 2017

4.5 stars The first section of the book is a terrifically exciting account of a B17 bomber raid over Germany in World War 2 that has a real sense of authenticity. It’s here we are first introduced to the wise-cracking but close-knit crew of the Fata Morgana, led by Captain Joe Farley. Suddenly, h...


Jolie rated it ★★★★☆

June 13, 2017

This book made me a little sad in spots because my grandfather was a gunner on a B-17. He didn’t serve in Europe, though, he served in the South Pacific. It wasn’t until my son, then 5, started expressing an interest in airplanes, that he started talking about the war. Of course, he didn’t tell m...


Bronagh rated it ★★☆☆☆

May 19, 2017

I received this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for a fair review This WWII meets sci-fi story is very much in the tradition of H Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs’ John Carter series, and indeed draws on a theme going much further back in legends and sagas. You can also point to simi...


WW2 rated it ★★★★★

March 05, 2017

Normally a Nonfiction reader, I was unexpectedly unable to put this book down. The reader is thrust into the story of an American bomber crew - a part of the story that is sure to thrill every WW2 history fan - and then taken on an unexpected journey into another world. Part detailed history, par...


Cassiopeia's rated it ★★☆☆☆

May 15, 2017

I got an ARC of this through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This was a very up and down read. It started off shakily to then develop into something very promising. Then it fell again but managed to finish off in a decent way. The story follows a crew on a bomber plane during World War...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.