The Lives of Desperate Girls by MacKenzie Common

Into the Wild

Read The Lives of Desperate Girls Online Free - One small, northern community. Two girls gone -- one missing, the other dead. A riveting coming-of-age debut young adult novel for fans of Everything I Never Told You and All the Bright Places.

Sixteen-year-old Helen Commanda is found dead just outside Thunder Creek, Ontario. Her murder goes unremarked, except for the fact that it may shed light on the earlier disappearance of Chloe Shaughnessy. Chloe is beautiful, rich and white. Helen is plain, and from the reservation. They had nothing in common except that they were teenage girls from an unforgiving small town. Only Chloe's best friend Jenny Parker knows exactly how unforgiving, but she's keeping some dangerous secrets of her own.
Jenny begins looking for answers about Helen's life and death, trying to understand larger questions about her town and her best friend. But what can a teenage girl really accomplish where adults have failed? And how much is Jenny actually complicit in a conspiracy of silence?



Title : The Lives of Desperate Girls
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0143198718
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


Sarah rated it ★★★★☆

September 18, 2017

This is a beautifully written book that unfolds slowly. I've read some negative reviews about this one. I can't say that I don't agree with any of the points they make, but I still felt a bit surprised. It's not an action packed book, but I still enjoyed it so much. It made a lot of excellent poi...


sana rated it ★☆☆☆☆

April 20, 2017

DNF @ 23% -I can't stand the writing??? I hate the first person pov and the writing is so bland. the The author wrote about so many unnessecary details that I just don't care about. It's so childish and annoying and I literally cannot stand it. -The (possible???) romance is terrible. Jenny and Tom...


Emer rated it ★☆☆☆☆

May 28, 2017

This was a book that attempted to do so much right but somewhere along the way the writer forgot to create memorable characters with a page-turningly gripping storyline. The main character is a girl called Jenny. Jenny is described as being poor, plain and quiet; instead of this creating a charac...


Dannii rated it ★★★★☆

June 11, 2017

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, MacKenzie Common, and the publisher, Penguin Teen, for this opportunity. The vague synopsis of this suggested a rather tried but interesting enough plot: two girls gone - one missing, the other dead. In actua...


Erin rated it ★★★☆☆

August 08, 2017

Thanks to NETGALLEY for an uncorrected proof in exchange for an honest review. Thunder Creek, Northern Ontario Canada. Jenny's best friend Caitlin is missing and a young girl from a local reservation named Helen is dead. However, the police in the community appear to be only interested in solving...


Sofii♡ (A Book. A Thought.) rated it ★★☆☆☆

June 29, 2017

I want to thank NetGalley and Penguin Random House Canada for providing me with this copy in exchange for an honest review 2/5 Stars You can find this one and more of my review on my blog A Book. A Thought. Well, the thing is, I was reading Ice Like Fire, the second book of the Snow Like Ashes tr...


Shannon (Mrsreadsbooks) rated it ★★★☆☆

August 04, 2017

I was really excited to read this book, but I have to admit I was disappointed. The author's writing isn't my favorite and although the story line had a lot of potential, the main character Jenny is so very annoying. Not only is she just kind of annoying, but she starts doing slightly ridiculous...


Tissy rated it ★★☆☆☆

May 18, 2017

This was such a hard book to get into and I'm afraid I couldn't conjure up the motivation to finish it. It's not because of the writing because that's fine and even in some parts it was really good. The plot was also intriguing but it could have been executed so much better had it not been for th...


Tijana rated it ★★★☆☆

October 19, 2017

ARC provided by Netgalley. Wish I haven't requested it. 2.5 stars and DNF at 50% I tried, you guys, I really tried! Been trying for over 6 months, to be exact. But what started as an slow but beautiful and exciting read turned into something so boring I wasn't able to read more than 10 pages at once. I...


Amy's Book Reviews rated it ★★☆☆☆

April 19, 2017

**Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of THE LIVES OF DESPERATE GIRLS in exchange for my honest review** The Canadian police are frantically searching for Jenny's white friend Chloe while all but ignoring missing, then found dead classmate and Native Helen. Jenny teens up wit...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.