Last Gentleman Standing by Jane Ashford

Into the Wild

Read Last Gentleman Standing Online Free - "A fabulous romance with wonderful characters... I couldn't put this book down." ―Night Owl Reviews, Reviewer Top Pick for Heir to the Duke

A fortune hunter's dream...
Miss Elisabeth Elham is an unlikely heiress. She never knew the curmudgeonly uncle who died suddenly and left her a fortune. She's proud, outspoken and independent―a definite challenge for London's fortune hunting suitors.

As various determined gentlemen vie for her attention at balls, routs, picnics and parties, Elisabeth finds herself embroiled with a charming rake, a mysterious nabob, and an elegant neighbor. This would all be great fun, if only she wasn't so fascinated by the one man in London who's not trying to woo her...

Originally titled Bluestocking, this story has been unavailable for over 25 years.



Title : Last Gentleman Standing
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1492655279
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 354 pages


Reviews


Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews rated it ★★★★☆

September 05, 2017

Nothing is more satisfying than delving into a regency romance and being swept away by the witty dialogue and phrases of good period writing. Last Gentleman Standing is a superbly written story of a young woman who gets an inheritance from her uncle and becomes an heiress. Elisabeth Elham gathers...


Barbara rated it ★★★★☆

August 18, 2017

Series: Stand Alone Publication Date: 9/5/17 This was such a fun, delightfully entertaining story filled with wonderful robust characters. One of my favorite characters is Aunt Lavinia – she is absolutely priceless. She acts like she’s not all there, but she really is – and she constantly uses mala...


Joann rated it ★★★☆☆

June 21, 2017

Last Gentleman Standing ⭐⭐⭐ by Jane Ashford Elisabeth Elham became an heiress overnight. She inherited from a recluse wealthy uncle and changed her life forever. She left her teaching position in a young ladies finishing school to fulfill her commitment as a new heiress. First on her agenda was to...


Caitlyn rated it ★★★★★

September 05, 2017

Last Gentleman Standing was originally published as Bluestocking in 1980. Knowing that, I'm inclined to be a little more forgiving of the few minor things that bothered me about this book (things like the protagonist being referred to as 'the girl' in speech tags and such). Elisabeth Elham is a de...


eyes.2c rated it ★★★☆☆

September 05, 2017

A lighthearted reprint for Jane Ashford fans A regency novel in the Georgette Heyer mode. The story has interesting characters, treachery, villainy, a mystery, interesting characters and an heiress newly come. Miss Elisabeth Elham is named as the heir to her Scrooge type miserly uncle. Upon findin...


AnnMarie rated it ★★★★☆

August 19, 2017

Last Gentleman Standing is a stand alone novel by Jane Ashford. It is a wonderfully old-fashioned type of regency romance, one full of content, and although being a romance, there aren't even kisses exchanged until the very end. So if you are looking for a bodice ripper this book won't be to your...


Norah rated it ★★★★☆

August 14, 2017

I read an ARC of this book in exchange for a fair review. This book is an old fashioned regency romance in the vein of Georgette Heyer and Barbara Cartland. Elisabeth Elham unexpectedly inherits her miserly Uncles fortune and goes from poor school teacher to wealthy heiress. She takes in 3 of her...


Debra rated it ★★☆☆☆

August 15, 2017

"Last Gentleman Standing" by Ms. Ashford was not my favorite. I've read lots of Regency romances and have never heard of some of the words and phrases that are used throughout the book. The story itself was bland at best. Everything came so easy to Elisabeth and she met some of the quirkiest char...


Shannon rated it ★☆☆☆☆

August 18, 2017

Round up to 1.5 stars. Not at all enjoyable. Review to come at AAR.


Kim rated it ★☆☆☆☆

August 04, 2017

I have read a few books by Jane Ashford, and was surprised by this book. There were more things that I disliked than liked. For me the story never came together. Elisabeth seems to befriend people easily enough. But they are mostly odd characters. They were the best part of the book for me.





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.