Asking for Truffle (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1) by Dorothy St. James

Into the Wild

Read Asking for Truffle (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1) Online Free - When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town's seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she's immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize--only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate. Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is, until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn's quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she's learning to love. Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.



Title : Asking for Truffle (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1683312910
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


Sabine rated it ★★★★☆

September 02, 2017

Asking for Truffles is the first book in the Southern Chocolate Shop mystery series. I enjoyed the setting in the chocolate shop, the cooking classes with Mabel and the preparations for the Sweets on the Beach Festival - chocolate, chocolate, chocolate. There is no such a thing as too much chocola...


Barbara rated it ★★☆☆☆

April 15, 2017

2.5 stars Charity Penn - an attractive, thirty-something, marketing executive - is a skeptical kind of gal. Her parents, an itinerant fortune teller who briefly hooked up with the young heir to a fortune, abandoned her right after birth. So Charity (who calls herself Penn) was raised by her patern...


Juli rated it ★★★★☆

August 31, 2017

Charity Penn receives a strange letter in the mail. It states she has won a trip to Camellia, SC to take cooking lessons at the local chocolate shop. Penn knows she didn't enter a contest, and she doesn't know anybody from Camellia. The whole thing seems very strange to her. Penn's friend, Skinny...


Mark rated it ★★★★☆

September 12, 2017

Charity Penn has been raised to trust no one, so she is immediately suspicious when she receives a letter stating she won a contest for cooking lessons in a chocolate shop in South Carolina – a contest she didn’t enter. When her friend goes down to investigate, he calls her teasing good news and...


Linda Langford rated it ★★★☆☆

May 21, 2017

Seldom have I read a cozy in which I did not like the main character, but I did not like this one. The female protagonist, Penn, has a past that troubles her and bleeds into every aspect of her life. As such, her 'tortured' character is tedious and unappealing throughout the story. She's paranoid...


LORI rated it ★★★★☆

September 16, 2017

Dollycas’s Thoughts As soon as I saw this cover pop up on Facebook I knew I needed to read this book! Look at those truffles and the cute puppy. Ms. St. James starts us out just up the highway from where I am sitting here in Wisconsin, when Charity Penn (Penn) learns she has won a trip to Camellia...


Betty rated it ★★★★★

August 07, 2017

The first in a new series about chocolate, a cozy mystery. The characters are developed in depth and will appeal to you. The background is a small island off the coast of South Carolina. Penn is notified that she has won a series of cooking lessons. She has never entered a contest and sends a fri...


Amy rated it ★★★★☆

September 17, 2017

Charity Penn, known as "Penn," is living in Madison, Wisconsin with her "Gram," when she receives a mysterious letter that she has won a free trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina for chocolate making lessons. Gram, a kind woman who raised her but not related to her, and her childhood friend nic...


Jonathan rated it ★★★★☆

August 17, 2017

Good with only one shortcoming. Full review coming to More Mysteries Please on August 28!


Peggy rated it ★★★☆☆

July 06, 2017

This a difficult review to write. I knew there were some mixed reviews on this book before I started reading, but I liked the premise well enough to give it a try. I guess my biggest problem with this book was that I really didn't like Charity Penn, the main character. She is stand-offish, prickl...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.