I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death by Maggie O'Farrell

Into the Wild

Read I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death Online Free - A BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week

'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims at the human heart' The Times

'A life-enhancing two-fingers to death... mesmerising' The Sunday Times

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Intelligent, insightful, inspirational, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell.

It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.



Title : I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 147224074X
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


karen rated it ★★★★☆

February 06, 2018

NOW AVAILABLE!!! At the time, I gaze up at the sky, the birds, the fast-moving clouds, and I am thinking about the dense forest behind us, about how I do not want to be dragged in there, not at all. I do not want to see the trees closing over my head, feel the scratch and pluck of bushes against m...


Diane S ☔ rated it ★★★★☆

January 22, 2018

Love her fiction so wanting to read her memoir was a no brainier. A different take for sure as she recounts the near death experiences she has encountered in her life. Reading this made me think of all the mishaps I have had, that could have turned fatal. Something I think we all share to various...


Esil rated it ★★★★★

January 14, 2018

I have never read any of Maggie O’Farrell’s fiction. It is not for lack of good intentions. I have certainly heard good things about her writing, which is what made me jump at chance to read an advance copy of this brief memoir. At first blush, the way O’Farrell has chosen to organize her memoir i...


Dem rated it ★★★★☆

February 03, 2018

I am a fan of Maggie O' Farrell Novels and love her descriptive writing. Her story telling is unique and fresh. Her latest book is totally different as it's a memoir that is quirky, interesting, honest, revealing and vivid. Told through 17 near death experiences that the author experienced through...


Veronica ⭐️ rated it ★★★★☆

October 09, 2017

I am Iam Iam is moving extracts from a life less ordinary; a life lived to the full. ”Is this your life?” She asks. “It’s not......it’s just......snatches of a life. A string of moments. Some chapters will be long. Others might be really short.” The chapters are at times terrifying and at other time...


Hannah rated it ★★★★☆

February 11, 2018

I might have been too excited about this. I have been looking forward to this memoir ever since I first saw this stunning cover. I finally caved in and bought myself a copy and started it the moment it arrived. And I enjoyed this. But it wasn’t quite the revelation I was maybe expecting. I love th...


Eve rated it ★★★★☆

November 16, 2017

"I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am."—Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar I thoroughly enjoyed this unique take on a memoir! I've never read any of O'Farrell's books, and I'm so glad I started here. O'Farrell recalls seventeen close brushes with death at variou...


Michael rated it ★★★☆☆

January 07, 2018

British novelist O’Farrell provides us an unusual collection of personal essays on the theme of near-death experiences in her life, with each chapter headed by an image and label for the relevant vital organ. From her childhood we get the events and aftermath reactions of nearly getting run down...


Benji rated it ★★★★☆

November 04, 2017

In two minds about this one, but eventually topped it up to four stars just through the power of the writing alone. Maggie O'Farrell writes beautifully - and yes, that still seems the correct word to use, despite the book being about seventeen brushes she has had with death - but I think, in the...


Lauren rated it ★★★★★

August 25, 2017

WHAT A PHENOMENAL AND BREATH-TAKING READ!!! I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell is a beautifully written, emotionally-wrenching and poetically-haunting story. I very rarely read non-fiction but when I heard about this book, I knew I had to have it. It follows Maggie's life from childhood to the...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.