I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death by Maggie O'Farrell

Into the Wild

Read I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death Online Free - A BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week

'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims at the human heart' The Times

'A life-enhancing two-fingers to death... mesmerising' The Sunday Times

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Intelligent, insightful, inspirational, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell.

It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.



Title : I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 147224074X
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


karen rated it ★★★★☆

November 20, 2017

At the time, I gaze up at the sky, the birds, the fast-moving clouds, and I am thinking about the dense forest behind us, about how I do not want to be dragged in there, not at all. I do not want to see the trees closing over my head, feel the scratch and pluck of bushes against my skin, my cloth...


Veronica ⭐️ rated it ★★★★☆

October 09, 2017

I am Iam Iam is moving extracts from a life less ordinary; a life lived to the full. ”Is this your life?” She asks. “It’s not......it’s just......snatches of a life. A string of moments. Some chapters will be long. Others might be really short.” The chapters are at times terrifying and at other time...


Eve rated it ★★★★☆

November 16, 2017

"I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am."—Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar I thoroughly enjoyed this unique take on a memoir! I've never read any of O'Farrell's books, and I'm so glad I started here. O'Farrell recalls seventeen close brushes with death at variou...


Benji rated it ★★★★☆

November 04, 2017

In two minds about this one, but eventually topped it up to four stars just through the power of the writing alone. Maggie O'Farrell writes beautifully - and yes, that still seems the correct word to use, despite the book being about seventeen brushes she has had with death - but I think, in the...


Lauren rated it ★★★★★

August 25, 2017

WHAT A PHENOMENAL AND BREATH-TAKING READ!!! I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell is a beautifully written, emotionally-wrenching and poetically-haunting story. I very rarely read non-fiction but when I heard about this book, I knew I had to have it. It follows Maggie's life from childhood to the...


Marianne rated it ★★★★☆

November 06, 2017

4.5★s “The knowledge that I was lucky to be alive, that it could so easily have been otherwise, skewed my thinking. I viewed my continuing life as an extra, a bonus, a boon: I could do with it what I wanted. And not only had I tricked death but I had escaped a fate of incapacity. What else was I g...


Sarah rated it ★★★★★

August 15, 2017

I had initially been sceptical about a memoir from a fiction writer. Have really enjoyed O'Farrell's fiction writing but couldn't see why I would want to read about her own life.... And to anyone else who might be thinking the same - it is because her writing is extraordinary; at times harrowing,...


Jaclyn rated it ★★★☆☆

September 02, 2017

Although I love the idea of exploring a life through brushes with death I think reading this book in one sitting was a bad idea. Maggie O'Farrell has had more than her fair share of near death experiences! This memoir is gripping and intense but I found, as I read it, it had a distancing effect....


Sue rated it ★★★★★

October 08, 2017

Warning: This book may change your life. This memoir is a powerful and haunting experience. Novelist Maggie O’Farrell tells of her seventeen encounters with near-death at different stages of her life. It is extraordinarily well-written: brave, visceral, terrifying. It will probably make you cry. I...


Thelastwordreview rated it ★★★★★

October 09, 2017

If life teaches us one thing it is that each day is precious and that we need to live each day and grab hold of life and never let, go. The Costa Awarding writer Maggie O’Farrell has released a memoir like no other. In I Am I Am I Am she talks openly about the 17 near death experiences that she h...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.