I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death by Maggie O'Farrell

Into the Wild

Read I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death Online Free - A BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week

'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims at the human heart' The Times

'A life-enhancing two-fingers to death... mesmerising' The Sunday Times

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Intelligent, insightful, inspirational, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell.

It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.



Title : I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 147224074X
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages


Reviews


Lauren rated it ★★★★★

August 25, 2017

WHAT A PHENOMENAL AND BREATH-TAKING READ!!! I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell is a beautifully written, emotionally-wrenching and poetically-haunting story. I very rarely read non-fiction but when I heard about this book, I knew I had to have it. It follows Maggie's life from childhood to the...


Jaclyn rated it ★★★☆☆

September 02, 2017

Although I love the idea of exploring a life through brushes with death I think reading this book in one sitting was a bad idea. Maggie O'Farrell has had more than her fair share of near death experiences! This memoir is gripping and intense but I found, as I read it, it had a distancing effect....


Sarah rated it ★★★★★

August 15, 2017

I had initially been sceptical about a memoir from a fiction writer. Have really enjoyed O'Farrell's fiction writing but couldn't see why I would want to read about her own life.... And to anyone else who might be thinking the same - it is because her writing is extraordinary; at times harrowing,...


Frances rated it ★★★★☆

September 07, 2017

Was so blown away by this book. Just picked it up randomly in a bookshop and it spoke to me so much. In reading it I had to face some of my biggest anxieties but the book was handled so well, so sensitively and so genuinely that it was difficult not to be completely drawn in. It says so much about...


Ellis rated it ★★★☆☆

August 16, 2017

Another physical book my eyes have enjoyed – not only for this books beautiful cover and illustrations on chapter pages, but also because Maggie O’Farrell’s memoir of near death experiences is literally as gripping as reading a page turning thriller. I Am, I Am, I Am is the memoir of Maggie O’Farr...


Karen rated it ★★★★★

September 05, 2017

A very different book from Maggie O'Farrell that takes the reader as described through 17 Brushes With Death. The brushes with death are classified by organs or organ systems. As ever the writing is glorious. Characters are defined with minimum words. I am struggling to find the most apt descript...


Kiran rated it ★★★★★

September 06, 2017

Astonishingly moving - I finished with tears in my eyes and goosebumps up my arms.


Eliza rated it ★★★☆☆

August 27, 2017

Interesting, sometimes tenuous, premise that is elucidated by the final chapter. Following this reveal, the whole assumes an elegiac quality, with strong currents of steel will, hopeful promise and love.


Wendy rated it ★★★★☆

September 06, 2017

An unusually presented autobiography/memoir that describes the brushes with death that have defined the author's life. We are presented a pottered, underskirt of biography because the narrative is episodic and does not follow a linear timeline. I think this really makes this a masterclass in "les...


Laura rated it ★★★★★

September 15, 2017

A memoir about O'Farrell's near misses with death, from the trivial to the extreme. The beginning chapters made me feel anxious with a knotted stomach as I relived my own encounters - the muggings, near drownings, close road accidents and traumatic miscarriage. But the later chapters were well ou...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.