The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter by Theodora Goss

Into the Wild

Read The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter Online Free - Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders—and the bigger mystery of their own origins.

Mary Jekyll, alone and penniless following her parents’ death, is curious about the secrets of her father’s mysterious past. One clue in particular hints that Edward Hyde, her father’s former friend and a murderer, may be nearby, and there is a reward for information leading to his capture…a reward that would solve all of her immediate financial woes.

But her hunt leads her to Hyde’s daughter, Diana, a feral child left to be raised by nuns. With the assistance of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, Mary continues her search for the elusive Hyde, and soon befriends more women, all of whom have been created through terrifying experimentation: Beatrice Rappaccini, Catherine Moreau, and Justine Frankenstein.

When their investigations lead them to the discovery of a secret society of immoral and power-crazed scientists, the horrors of their past return. Now it is up to the monsters to finally triumph over the monstrous.



Title : The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1534409637
Edition Language : English
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 0 pages


Reviews


Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ rated it ★★★★☆

June 29, 2017

Final review, first posted on Fantasy Literature: I've read several of Arthur Conan Doyle's original Sherlock Holmes works in the last few years, as well as The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. In my college days (not long after the Victorian age) I also read Mary...


Mogsy (MMOGC) rated it ★★★★☆

June 30, 2017

4 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2017/06/20/... “That was the first meeting of the Athena Club. … Readers who remember their classical mythology will immediately realize its significance: Athena, born from the head of her father, Zeus. We do not claim the wisdom of Athen...


samantha rated it ★★★★★

August 03, 2017

a really Interesting read if you love the Classics like Sherlock, and mary shelley Frankenstein, it's a Great Book that brings to life characters that we all think we know. from Sherlock to jekyll and hyde to rappaccini's daughter,The plot/mystery is interesting (solving the Whitechapel Murders),...


Melora rated it ★★☆☆☆

July 23, 2017

“The Unfortunate Case of the Gimmicks That Took Over the Story” This was disappointing. Hard to see how anyone could write a mash-up of so many Victorian “monster” stories and make it boring, but that's what Goss has succeeded in doing here. The business of having the characters interjecting comme...


Lindsay rated it ★★★★☆

July 20, 2017

Ok I'm going to be incredibly enthusiastic here: I LOVE THIS BOOK. Like. I love it SO HARD. I LOVE IT. I want more in this universe. I want more of this series immediately. MONSTER GIRLS! MONSTER GIRLS WHO LOVE AND PROTECT EACH OTHER AND COME TOGETHER TO STOP A SOCIETY OF MEN WHO TREATED THEM AS INHU...


Sheila rated it ★★★★☆

June 19, 2017

View this entire review along with others on my blog at: She's Going Book Crazy Release date June 20, 2017! I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. We are no longer in the age of Charles Dickens or George Eliot, after all. We are modern. And, of cou...


Fran rated it ★★★★★

June 30, 2017

I loved this book and blurbed it so very hard. Now I can share with you what I wrote after I read it. To wit: Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victo...


Maria rated it ★★★☆☆

June 25, 2017

I'm not sure what to say about this book. I liked the premise, I enjoyed reading it, I liked that it was a story about extraordinary women coming together as sisters. It even had Sherlock Holmes! But something about the basic structure of it sort of threw me off. The story is punctuated by charact...


❀⊱Rory⊰❀ rated it ★★★★☆

June 26, 2017

4 stars! This was a delight. Funny, great characters, and very well written. This is an adventure, mystery, historical fiction and fantasy all rolled into one. The only bad part is that I have to wait for the sequel. I want it now! Mary Jekyll's mother has just passed away after many years of illne...


☕ Kimberly rated it ★★★★☆

August 02, 2017

THE STRANGE CASE OF THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER was a delightful mash-up involving characters from The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Sherlock Holmes, Rappacini's Daughter, The Island of Dr. Moreau, Frankenstein, and Dracula. It was clever from its delivery to the author's reinvention of e...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.