The Sky is Yours by Chandler Klang Smith

Into the Wild

Read The Sky is Yours Online Free - A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they've ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.



Title : The Sky is Yours
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0451496264
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 464 pages


Reviews


Mogsy (MMOGC) rated it ★★★★☆

January 23, 2018

3.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/01/23/... It’s rare that I find myself at a loss for words about a book, and while I’m sure I can come up with any number of adjectives to describe Chandler Klang Smith’s The Sky Is Yours, I doubt even that would be sufficient to g...


Faith rated it ★★★★☆

January 24, 2018

It is really hard to describe this book, and too much description would probably spoil it anyway. Just know that it is decidedly weird with extremely imaginative world building. I had a difficult time getting into the story due to strange speech patterns and invented words that initially put me o...


Blair rated it ★★★★☆

January 15, 2018

The Sky is Yours is an outrageously colourful fantasy that might take place in the far future, or it might be set on another planet or in an alternate universe. Empire Island has reality TV, video streaming (the 'Toob') and phone-like devices (the 'LookyGlass') alongside flying machines, a networ...


Lena rated it ★★★★☆

February 19, 2018

"From below, the dragon does not resemble a living thing. It is an oppression, a ceiling on the world." This book is really hard to describe but here goes: Jane Austen meets Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH in an early post apocalypse setting with dragons. This was one of one. Duncan Humphrey...


Jonathan rated it ★★★★★

September 23, 2017

Wow! This is a very bold, fresh, hilarious, sad and smart combination of literary satire and apocalyptic Scifi. It manages to combine elements of a futuristic Austenesque marriage plot with a Vonnegut/Saunders style blackly humorous take on virtual reality TV celebrity culture, and a strange deca...


Amy rated it ★☆☆☆☆

January 29, 2018

It was really impressive how quickly I hated this book. Absolutely could not stand it. This review is in exchange for a free copy received from bloggingforbooks.com.


Samantha rated it ★★★★☆

February 05, 2018

Review from Hello Yellow Room. Feels like: if The Princess Bride were a reality television show starring the whole cast of Peaky Blinders and Jersey Shore. Sounds like: “Hung Up On You” by Tate McRae Listen Here / 2018 HELLO YELLO REVIEWS Playlist Why? Roving adventure tales set in dystopian futu...


Eric rated it ★★★★★

January 31, 2018

Obviously I'm biased, but regardless: this book is an IQ test for your soul.


Meigan rated it ★★★★☆

November 29, 2017

Delightfully weird and incredibly unique, The Sky is Yours tells the story of three teens, Swanny, Ripple, and Abby, who are navigating a twisted, broken, burning world. Empire City has been under siege from a pair of dragons that circle the sky and light fires on a whim, but that’s not the only...


Nicholas rated it ★★★★★

October 12, 2017

I was thrilled to get a sneak peek at this novel thanks to an ARC from Penguin Random House! All the promise that Chandler Klang Smith showed in GOLDENLAND PAST DARK is both confirmed and built upon impressively in THE SKY IS YOURS, an epic adventure tale set in a richly imagined world that has g...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.