City of Circles by Jess Richards

Into the Wild

Read City of Circles Online Free - A magical love story between two circus performers, for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern by Costa-shortlisted author Jess Richards.

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist.

Danu is a tightrope walker who is mourning her parents, after a disease has ravaged the circus where she grew up. Her mother has entrusted her with a locket that hides a secret.

Over the years, Danu pushes away her grief and develops elaborate and successful high-wire acts with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. When the circus returns to Danu's birthplace, Matryoshka, Danu is enchanted by the temples, spice mists, and pleasure seekers within the intoxicating outer circle district.

Here, she finally gains the courage to open her mother's locket, and discovers the name of a stranger who lives behind the locked gate of the Inner Circle. Fated to remain in Matryoshka, Danu attempts to resolve this mystery . . .

Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something far more unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city?



Title : City of Circles
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1473656680
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 384 pages


Reviews


Ashley rated it ★★★★☆

September 23, 2017

"Death steals all the answers to unasked questions." I have thought and thought about what I would say about this book when I was done reading it. I tried to keep notes, in my head, on paper, it didn't help. This problem is partly because the things I want to talk about the most, I can't share wit...


Linda rated it ★★★★★

May 28, 2017

When Danu Monk is fifteen she watches her parents die. They are victims of a virus which has resulted in five deaths, and affected many more, in the circus community which is her home. Even though she is taken in by her parents’ closest friends in the circus, and is surrounded by people who care...


Illona rated it ★★★★☆

August 26, 2017

gorgeous story. crap ending.


Angela rated it ★★★★☆

July 26, 2017

Romance and literal tight-ropes you say? I'm in. As the tale waxed on, it became clear I was reading tragedy. I continued, although I ached for the thoroughly-drawn characters. From midway I found similarities to Neil Gaiman and Trudi Canavan, but Richards' voice is distinctly different from any...


SJH (A Dream of Books) rated it ★★★☆☆

September 02, 2017

'City of Circles' is an unusual and unique read. I hadn't heard a lot about it before reading the novel but I was attracted to it by the premise of the story. It features a character called Danu, who at the beginning of the book loses both of her parents. She struggles to deal with her grief with...


Debbie rated it ★☆☆☆☆

September 22, 2017

Well, 100 pages in and our main character is irritating the hell out of me. Yes she's lost her parents and it's very sad but stop leading that poor guy on. Seriously, you are doing my head in. The book is really well written but it's so earnest. She spends so much time just being all emotional an...


Sara rated it ★★★☆☆

August 30, 2017

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This is a magical love story involving two circus performers. Although some may find it magical and entertaining, I rather felt it a bit slow and cumbersome. The story itself is based around a girl, Danu, overcoming her grief and gu...


USOM rated it ★★★☆☆

July 21, 2017

I think perhaps I'm in the minority here, but something about this book didn't click with me. I thought the book was super whimsical and incredibly detailed - and normally I like these elements - but combined with the plot it just felt labored. The plot, to me, dragged a bit and for a while not m...


Sophie Elaina rated it ★★★★★

August 06, 2017

Wow, I really enjoyed this book. I feel like it has one of those plots that is so well weaved together with the characters and their development that it was really mind blowing to read. I mean some things were predictable but there was so much more happening at the same time that wasn't and I can...


Maya rated it ★★☆☆☆

October 30, 2017

I have tried (dear God, I’ve tried) to engage with this book but it was such a slow, frustrating, boring read. Part of this was my fault, it wasn’t the book I was expecting it to be - I had imagined something darker, more mystical, magical, more along the lines of The Night Circus. This was more...





Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.