The Storm King by Brendan Duffy

Into the Wild

Read The Storm King Online Free - Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Burying the past only gives it strength--and fury.

Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father.

Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.

This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion.

As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming--one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.

Title : The Storm King
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0804178143
Edition Language : English
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 391 pages


Chelsea rated it ★★★★★

February 05, 2018

Have you ever read a book and simply couldn't fit it neatly into a single category? That's how I felt about The Storm King; I found that it defied genre boundaries and haven't a clue how to portray the correct recommendation for it. It is suspenseful, yes, but I wouldn't market it as a thriller....

Linda rated it ★★★★☆

October 24, 2017

Vengeance is a bitter brew served in your own cupped hands. Nate McHale finds himself tracking far distant miles from home aboard a cramped bus in the direction of Greystone Lake, New York. A hurricane is churning up along the east coast making travel hazardous at best. His thoughts turn to his w...

Susanne rated it ★★★☆☆

December 18, 2017

3 Stars. Nate McHale “The Storm King” returns home to Greystone Lake after a Fourteen Year absence. If he had it his way, he would never return to this town. It has too many bad memories. Memories of his family’s death, memories of his High School girl friend Lucy’s disappearance and memories of t...

Debra rated it ★★★★☆

October 29, 2017

"Because everyone is guilty of something. Everyone deserves to be punished." Just a thought...the past is never really in the past. Actions have consequences. Can I just say "READ IT!" and leave my review at that? No? Then read my review below: Seriously here is the gist: The book opens after Nate...

Kendall rated it ★★★☆☆

February 02, 2018

Nate McHale known as "The Storm King" returns home to Greystone Lake after 14 years. Nate is dreading his return home with so many bad memories of his family's death and his high school friend Lucy's mysterious disappearance. Lucy's body is found and Nate finds himself as the prime suspect of her...

Tammy rated it ★★★★☆

December 18, 2017

Joe Hill could have written this. It's that good. The Storm King, on it's surface is a thrilling who-dun-it. Behind the riveting plot, it examines what we do (both good and bad) and the far reaching consequences our actions have. I took one star off for a disappointing scene that made me roll my...

Jan rated it ★★★★☆

December 04, 2017

Whew, there was a lot going on with this one! Dragged at points, but the ending was solid. I don't think I have every described a book as 'heavy', but that's the word that comes to mind as I try to summarize my thoughts about this one. It's a turbulent, intense, roller coaster ride. One that takes...

Steven rated it ★★★★☆

February 06, 2018

Thanks to Netgalley and Random House/Penguin/Ballantine for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review. The Storm King was a strong sophomore run from Brendan Duffy, and was a mystery/thriller with bite. Some have been comparing his atmosphere to Stephen King, and I can totally pick...

Marialyce rated it ★★★☆☆

February 24, 2018

3.5 up in the air stars Sometimes I really liked this book and there were other times where the opposite was true. I had kind of a love/hate relationship with this book. Nate is a young boy when tragedy strikes when a car accident occurs because of a drunk driver, Nate loses his family and goes to...

Paul rated it ★★★★★

September 24, 2017

This ARC was provided complements of NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. My gratitude sent to Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books for allowing this pre-release edition made available. The author drove home a lesson known all too well. To me anyway. Wrapped up in an old clich...

Read Books Online Free is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.